Shoaib Akhtar Names All-time ODI XI, Virat Kohli Is Missing
By Aditya Pratap - Jul 17, 2021 8:41 pm
Views 6.3K
Share Post

Former Pakistan pacer Shoaib Akhtar picked his all-time greatest One-Day International playing XI, where he named four Indian players along with four Pakistani players. Interestingly, Indian skipper, Virat Kohli wasn’t named in this team despite possessing formidable stats in ODI cricket.

Shoaib Akhtar
Shoaib Akhtar

Another surprise call by Akhtar was naming Shane Warne captain of this team despite having MS Dhoni in the lineup.

Akhtar named West Indies’ Gordon Greenidge and legendary Sachin Tendulkar as the openers of his all-time ODI XI. Both players are known for their destructive style of batting while Tendulkar can adopt any role according to the need.

Also Read: Shoaib Akhtar slams Pakistan team after Lord’s defeat

He, then, named the Pakistan duo of Inzamam-ul-Haq and Saeed Anwar on number three and four respectively. Both these batsmen shaped Pakistan cricket in the first decade of this century and played several memorable knocks over the years.

MS Dhoni is given the wicketkeeping duties while Adam Gilchrist is also there in the team. Star Indian all-rounder Yuvraj Singh is slatted in to come at number seven.

Watch the video here;

Wasim Akram and Waqar Younis are the spearheads of this XI. Both these pacers are no short of recognition and had formed the most-deadly bowling partnership during their playing days.

Also Read: Shoaib Akhtar calls Jonny Bairstow an overrated batsman

Akhtar then named legendary Indian all-rounder Kapil Dev in his XI, who lifted the World Cup 1983 with Team India. Shane Warne caps off this all-time ODI XI and he is named to lead the side as well. Warne had captained Australia during his cricketing days but wasn’t a regular skipper. Though, he went on to captain several T20 teams around the world after his retirement.

Shoaib Akhtar all-time ODI XI

Gordon Greenidge, Sachin Tendulkar, Inzamam-ul-Haq, Saeed Anwar, MS Dhoni (wk), Adam Gilchrist, Yuvraj Singh, Wasim Akram, Waqar Younis, Kapil Dev and Shane Warne (captain).