Shreyas Iyer Ruled Out Of The ODI Series Against New Zealand
By CricShots - Jan 17, 2023 2:57 pm
Views 62

The Indian batter, Shreyas Iyer has been ruled out of the three-match ODI series against New Zealand scheduled to be commencing in Hyderabad on Wednesday (January 18). Iyer has sustained a back injury and will not be able to take part in the ODI series. The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) named Royal Challengers Bangalore batter Rajat Patidar has the replacement for Iyer in the side.

Shreyas Iyer
Shreyas Iyer

Announcing the replacement, the BCCI said, “Team India batter Shreyas Iyer has been ruled out of the upcoming 3-match ODI series against New Zealand due to a back injury. He will be heading to the National Cricket Academy (NCA) for further assessment and management. The All-India Senior Selection Committee has named Rajat Patidar as replacement for Shreyas Iyer.”

Shreyas Iyer will not be taking part in the upcoming ODI series and now it will e opening up the door for Suryakumar Yadav to return to the playing XI after being kept out for the three-match ODI series against Sri Lanka which India won 3-0. Suryakumar Yadav and Ishan Kishan are now the favorites to replace Iyer and KL Rahul, who will be skipping the series as he is expected to get hitched to the Bollywood star Athiya Shetty.

ALSO READ: Sanjay Bangar Opines Virat Kohli Will Witness Another Peak In His Career

Madhya Pradesh batter, Rajat Patidar has been in fine form with the bat. He scored his maiden IPL century in the eliminator against Lucknow Super Giants to lead Royal Challengers Bangalore to a win last year.

In 51 List A matches, Patidar has a strike rate of 97.45 with three centuries and eight fifties. India will begin the ODI series against the Black Caps in Hyderabad with the second game in Raipur and the final one at the Holkar Stadium in Indore.

ALSO READ: Ishan Kishan Shares True Emotions After Maiden Test Callup

India’s updated ODI squad against New Zealand: Rohit Sharma (Captain), Shubman Gill, Ishan Kishan (wk), Virat Kohli, Suryakumar Yadav, KS Bharat (wk), Hardik Pandya (vice-captain), Rajat Patidar, Washington Sundar, Shahbaz Ahmed, Shardul Thakur, Yuzvendra Chahal, Kuldeep Yadav, Mohd. Shami, Mohd. Siraj, Umran Malik.