Sourav Ganguly to Decide MSK Prasad-led Selection Committee’s Fate?
By Shruti - Oct 25, 2019 8:32 am
Views 58

The selection committee, led by MSK Prasad, is at the end of their term as per the new BCCI constitution but new Board President Sourav Ganguly can decide whether they will complete the mandated five years in office or not. Although the selectors’ term was for four years according to the old rule, the new constitution, which has come into effect now, has a provision of a maximum of the five-year term of the selectors.

Sourav Ganguly

Clause 26(3) states: “No person who has been a member of any Cricket Committee for a total of five years shall be eligible to be a member of any cricket committee.”

The Prasad (south zone) and Gagan Khoda (central zone) were appointed at the 2015 BCCI Annual General Meeting (AGM) and their term will end on September 2020 as per the new constitution. On the other hand, Jatin Paranjpe (East zone), Sarandeep Singh (North Zone) and Devang Gandhi (east zone) have two years to years to go as they had started in 2016.

Read here: Bangladesh Players to Return to Action Soon?

However, the matter is expected to be discussed during the meeting between BCCI president Sourav Ganguly and the selectors. Even there is a clause in the selectors’ contract that says renewal is needed at every AGM. Since there were no AGMs in 2017 and 2018 due to the Board being governed by Committee of Administrators. Sourav Ganguly, however, has said that Prasad and Khoda are all set to be replaced while Paranjpe, Gandhi and Sarandeep have a year left still.

“Still the president can keep three, replace two or even ask the Cricket Advisory Committee to pick five new members as a part of complete overhaul,” a senior BCCI member told PTI. “I hope the concerned people apprise the president that all the selectors as per new rule, have some part of their tenure left.”

Cricket Advisory Committee (CAC) will appoint the selection committee which will be picked during the upcoming AGM of the newly-elected Board.