South Africa Test squad announced against India; Nortje, Rabada return
By SMCS - Dec 7, 2021 2:05 pm
Views 1.2K

South Africa has named a 21-member squad for the three-match Test series against India. Duanne Olivier, who had last played a Test for South Africa in 2019 as he had announced retirement, has been added to South Africa’s Test squad. Glenton Stuurman and Prenelan Subrayen too have been included, while Ryan Rickelton and Sisanda Magala earned maiden Test call-ups as well.

India defeated South Africa in Pune

On the other hand, Kagiso Rabada, Quinton de Kock, and Anrich Nortje have returned to the squad again. Notably, they didn’t take part in the ODI series against the Netherlands as well. However, now they have been added to the team for the all-important series as South Africa tries to have a positive start to their ICC World Test Championship 2021-23 campaign as well.

Meanwhile, Dean Elgar will lead the Test side while Temba Bavuma will be his deputy with the series set to begin on December 26. Meanwhile, Cricket South Africa (CSA) has confirmed on Monday that the Wanderers will host the New Year’s Test against India, beginning on January 3 as per the revised schedule.

ALSO READ: Fans react as the first Test between INDvNZ ended in a draw

The tour will start with the Boxing Day Test at SuperSport Park in Centurion while Cape Town to host the third and final Test as well starting on January 11. However, the series will be a part of the World Test Championship. After the end of the Test series, they will take on each other in two ODIs on January 19 and 21 in Paarl and 23 in Cape Town respectively.

south africa
India vs South Africa

Squad: Dean Elgar (captain), Temba Bavuma (vice-captain), Quinton de Kock (wicketkeeper), Kagiso Rabada, Sarel Erwee, Beuran Hendricks, George Linde, Keshav Maharaj, Lungi Ngidi, Aiden Markram, Wiaan Mulder, Anrich Nortje, Keegan Petersen, Rassie van der Dussen, Kyle Verreynne, Marco Jansen, Glenton Stuurman, Prenelan Subrayen, Sisanda Magala, Ryan Rickelton, Duanne Olivier.

READ HERE: Wasim Jaffer names batting-order for 2nd Test vs New Zealand

South Africa vs India 2021-22 – Schedule

  • 1st Test – Dec 26-30 – Centurion
  • 2nd Test – Jan 03-07 – Johannesburg
  • 3rd Test – Jan 11-15 – Cape Town
  1. 1st ODI – Jan 19 – Paarl
  2. 2nd ODI – Jan 21 – Paarl
  3. 3rd ODI – Jan 23 – Cape Town