South Africa Unveils Surprising Squad For T20 World Cup 2024
By CricShots - Apr 30, 2024 3:37 pm
Views 66

South Africa has unveiled its 15-member squad for the upcoming T20 World Cup, with Aiden Markram leading the Proteas for the first time in an ICC event. The squad includes notable inclusions such as Anrich Nortje, making a comeback after nine months due to injury, and Quinton de Kock, returning after retiring from ODIs in 2023.

South Africa
South Africa team

Ryan Rickelton and Ottniel Baartman, standout performers in the SA20 league, are set to earn their maiden international caps. Rickelton, the top run-scorer in the SA20 league, is expected to partner De Kock at the top of the order, while Baartman, with 18 wickets in eight matches, bolsters the bowling attack.

The batting lineup also features Reeza Hendricks, Heinrich Klaasen, David Miller, and Tristan Stubbs. In the bowling department, Kagiso Rabada, Marco Jansen, and Gerald Coetzee provide pace, while Bjorn Fortuin, Keshav Maharaj, and Tabraiz Shamsi offer spin options.

WATCH – Ricky Ponting Shares Expertise On Pull Shots With Angkrish Raghuvanshi

However, the squad’s announcement comes with notable exclusions, including former captain Temba Bavuma, Rilee Rossouw, and Wayne Parnell. Despite their stellar performances, Rassie van der Dussen and Matthew Breetzke also missed out on selection.


The selection of Nortje, De Kock, and Baartman, along with the squad’s overall balance, reflects South Africa’s ambition to make a strong statement in the T20 World Cup. With experienced campaigners and promising talents, the Proteas aim to compete fiercely against the world’s best teams in the tournament.

ALSO READ: Aakash Chopra Slams Rishabh Pant’s Toss Decision In IPL Clash: “You Cannot Bat Like That”

The squad announcement signals South Africa’s readiness to challenge for cricket’s ultimate prize and underscores the team’s determination to excel on the global stage. As the countdown to the T20 World Cup begins, all eyes will be on the Proteas as they aim to make their mark in the prestigious tournament.

South Africa squad: Aiden Markram (c), Ottniel Baartman, Gerald Coetzee, Quinton de Kock, Bjorn Fortuin, Reeza Hendricks, Marco Jansen, Heinrich Klaasen, Keshav Maharaj, David Miller, Anrich Nortje, Kagiso Rabada, Ryan Rickelton, Tabraiz Shamsi, Tristan Stubbs.