SRH Donates A Hefty Amount For Coronavirus Relief, Warner Applauds
By CricShots - Apr 9, 2020 7:04 pm
Views 360

The outbreak of coronavirus has made a deep effect on human beings as it has killed more than 89,000 people around the world. Talking about India, the country has witnessed more than 6200 confirmed cases and 186 deaths have been recorded so far. India is currently under a 21-day lockdown and all sporting events have also been affected due to the pandemic.

Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH)

However, the future of much-awaited IPL 2020 seems to be in jeopardy as the tournament was earlier scheduled to commence on March 29 and it has currently been suspended till April 15. But considering the stern situation across the globe, the possibility of the tournament of happen looks slim.

ALSO READ: Gloucestershire Cancels Deal with Cheteshwar Pujara

Meanwhile, many cricketers including Virat Kohli, Suresh Raina, Ajinkya Rahane and Rohit Sharma have stepped up and contributed to PM-CARES Relief Fund and contributed toward the fight against the deadly virus. With no further news about the commencement of IPL 2020, one of the franchises– Sunrisers Hyderabad has also decided to contribute their bit to tackle the pandemic.

ALSO READ: Hardik Pandya Capture His Fiances Making Pancakes For Him

The David Warner-led side has announced to donate INR 10 crores towards COVID-19 relief measures. Tweeted about the same, the franchise wrote: “Sun TV Group (SunRisers Hyderabad) is donating Rs.10 Crores towards Corona Covid-19 relief measures.”

David Warner also took to Twitter and lauded his franchise for the donation. The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) had also donated a sum of INR 51 crore to the PM Cares Fund to help the country. Warner tweeted: “How good is this well done Sun TV Group @SunRisers.”

The SRH became a part of the IPL back in 2012 after the removal of the Deccan Chargers team. Since 2012, they lifted the coveted trophy for the first time in 2016 under the leadership of Warner. SRH managed to reach the final of the 2018 edition of the IPL but lost to MS Dhoni-led Chennai Super Kings.