Sri Lanka Announced Revised 24-member Team For The India Series
By CricShots - Jul 16, 2021 6:03 pm
Views 953

Sri Lanka Cricket (SLC) has announced a revised 24-member squad for the three-match ODI and T20I series against India. Notably, the Indian team is raring to locking horns with the Islanders in three ODIs and as many T20Is. The ODI series will commence from July 18 with all six matches being played out at the R Premadasa Stadium in Colombo.

Sri Lanka
Sri Lanka team

Notably, Sri Lanka Cricket has gone through a lot of ups and downs in recent times. The turbulent tide began with a contractual dispute between Sri Lankan players and the national cricket board. It was followed by a forgettable 3-0 defeat against England in the T20I series away from home and the return of the team back home was marred with COVID-19 impact.

ALSO READ: Kusal Perera Ruled Out Of The ODIs And T20Is Against India

To make matters worse for the Lankan contingent, Dasun Shanaka replaced Kusal Perera as the captain of the team. On Friday, another tragic news came in when Kusal Perera was ruled out of the entire Indian tour due to a sprain in his right shoulder. Fast bowler Binura Fernando was also ruled out of the ODI series.

Now, Sri Lanka Cricket has announced a revised 24-member contingent for the ODI and T20I series against India. Dasun Shanaka will be leading the team in the ODIs and the T20Is while Dhananjaya de Silva will be serving as Shanaka’s deputy. 

Although the Indian Test squad is in England, the limited-over squad has traveled to the Lankan island. However, with the Lankan team suffering against England in the recent ODI series, Team India can be termed favorites to win the ODI and T20I series.

ALSO READ: Hardik Pandya Can Be Extremely Dangerous Finisher

Shikhar Dhawan will be leading the Indian squad in absence of Virat Kohli while Rahul Dravid will be acting as the head coach of the side in the absence of Ravi Shastri. Bhuvneshwar Kumar, the ace Indian pacer, has been named the deputy skipper.