Sri Lanka Finalizes Squad For The Test Series Against India
By CricShots - Feb 25, 2022 9:50 pm
Views 61

The 18-member Sri Lanka Test squad, led by star batter Dimuth Karunaratne and featuring some stalwarts like Angelo Mathews, Lahiru Thirimanne, and Dinesh Chandimal, checked in Dharamsala on Friday for the two-match series against India starting March 4 in Mohali. However, Kusal Mendis and spinner Maheesh Theekshana have been ruled out of the T20I series with the latter going back home owing to a hamstring injury.

Sri Lanka Test team

However, Kusal Mendis will be staying back in India as he is part of the Test squad and will be added subject to fitness. Niroshan Dickwella, who recently came out of suspension for bio-bubble breach in England last year, has also been drafted into the T20 squad along with Dananjaya de Silva, both of whom, are also a part of the Test squad.

ALSO READ: Anushka Sharma Gives A Sneak Peek Into Her Preparations For Jhulan Goswami’s Biopic

The 18-member squad has been approved by Sri Lanka’s Minister of Youth and Sports Namal Rajapaksa, who incidentally is son of Prime Minister Mahinda Rajapaksa. The SLC also decided to include all-rounder Ramesh Mendis in the Test squad but later said he has been left out owing to an injury.

Angelo Mathews and Kusal Mendis

It also said that spinner Wanindu Hasaranga, who was in quarantine in Australia after testing positive for COVID-19, “will return home” as he had earlier tested positive after coming to India as well. Currently, the visitors have reeled by a 0-1 margin in the three-match T20I series after losing th opening game by 62 runs.

ALSO READ: Ruturaj Gaikwad Ruled Out Of The T20Is Against Sri Lanka

Sri Lanka Test Squad: Dimuth Karunaratne (Captain), Pathum Nissanka, Lahiru Thirimanne, Dhananjaya de Silva (Vice-Captain), Kusal Mendis (subject to fitness), Angelo Mathews, Dinesh Chandimal, Charith Asalanka, Niroshan Dickwella, Chamika Karunaratne, Ramesh Mendis (will not take part due to an injury), Lahiru Kumara, Suranga Lakmal, Dushmantha Chameera, Vishwa Fernando, Jeffrey Vandersay, Praveen Jayawickrema, Lasith Embuldeniya.