Sri Lankan squad for the one-off T20I against India announced
By SMCS - Sep 6, 2017 10:04 am
Views 0


Team Sri-Lanka

Sri Lankan Cricket team is going through a very rough patch in their cricket career. After the loss against Zimbabwe, things have turned worse as they suffered back to back blows against India. First, the whitewash in test and next in the limited overs by 5-0. Now just a single T20I remains before they go off to play Pakistan in the United Arab Emirates.

Their batting collapses and poor bowling display has caught the eye of critics and fans too at a level that in the third ODI the play had to be stopped due to the throwing of bottles in the stadium by the angry Lankan Crowd.

Not a single player was able to give a performance to talk about, the only highlight being Malinga getting his 300th ODI wicket. The T20 international on Tuesday gives the hosts one final chance of ending this terrible tour on a good note.

The team was decided last on September when Sanath Jaysurya was still on the deciding committee. Upul Tharanga is back as the Sri Lankan captain. All-rounder Dasun Shanaka and leg-spinner Jeffrey Vandersay have been recalled to the side.

Sanath Jayasuriya has earlier resigned from the committee due to present conditions and Upul Tharanga on other hand eyes to take a rest from few of upcoming matches in future. Lankans are ranked eighth in the T20 rankings and India is fifth. It would definitely be an exciting contest to witness. Sri Lanka visits India late this year for a test series again.

Sri Lanka squad for the one-off T20I:

Upul Tharanga (C), Niroshan Dickwella (wk), Angelo Mathew, Dilshan Munaweera, Dasun Shanaka, Milinda Siriwardena, Wanindu Hasaranga, Akila Dananjaya, Jeffrey Vandersay, Isuru Udana, Seekkuge Prasanna, Thisara Perera, Lasith Malinga, Suranga Lakmal, Vikum Sanjaya.