Steve Smith To Lead Australia In The ODI Series Against India
By CricShots - Mar 14, 2023 12:43 pm
Views 68

The veteran Australian batter, Steve Smith is set to lead Australia in their upcoming ODI series against India in the absence of Pat Cummins. The latter has opted to stay in Australia ahead of their three-match ODI series against India, starting March 17. Cummins will be staying in Australia after leaving India after the second Test match of the series in Delhi, to take care of his mother, who unfortunately passed away from breast cancer when the fourth match of the series was being played in Ahmedabad.

Steve Smith
Steve Smith

Australia head coach Andrew McDonald confirmed that Cummins would be staying back in Australia and would miss the three-match ODI series against India.

Andrew McDonald informed, “Pat won’t be coming back, he’s still taking care of what’s happened back home. Our thoughts are with Pat and his family as they go through that grieving process.”

WATCH – Sunil Gavaskar Shakes A Leg With Matthew Hayden On ‘Naatu Naatu’

In Cummins’ absence, Smith is set to lead the side after taking over the captaincy for the last couple of Tests of the series. Meanwhile, Australia opener David Warner has been declared fit for the ODI series as well after picking up an elbow injury in the second Test at the Arun Jaitley Stadium in Delhi. Mitchell Marsh managed to make a comeback to the side, having recovered from an ankle injury.

Pat Cummins
Pat Cummins

Australia will be without Josh Hazlewood, who picked up an Achilles injury. Meanwhile, Nathan Ellis was recently recalled after Jhye Richardson was ruled out of the series due to a hamstring injury.

India registered a series win against Australia by 2-1 margin in the four-match series after playing out a draw at the Narendra Modi Stadium in Ahmedabad, to retain the Border-Gavaskar Trophy. The two sides will also face each other in the World Test Championship final in June.

ALSO READ: Rohit Sharma Reveals Virat Kohli Was Coughing Before The Game

Australia ODI squad:

Steve Smith (c), Sean Abbott, Ashton Agar, Alex Carey, Nathan Ellis, Cameron Green, Travis Head, Josh Inglis, Marnus Labuschagne, Mitchell Marsh, Glenn Maxwell, Mitchell Starc, Marcus Stoinis, David Warner, Adam Zampa.

Schedule for ODI series

  • 1st ODI: March 17 at Wankhede Stadium in Mumbai
  • 2nd ODI: March 19 at YS Raja Reddy Stadium in Vizag
  • 3rd ODI: March 22 at MA Chidambaram Stadium in Chennai