Sunil Gavaskar Feels “Good Problem” Of Openers Awaits India For T20 World Cup Openers
By CricShots - Dec 11, 2023 7:31 pm
Views 68

India’s journey towards the 2024 T20 World Cup has begun, and the team is turning to a fresh generation of talent to make their mark. Young stars like Yashasvi Jaiswal, Ruturaj Gaikwad, Rinku Singh, Tilak Varma, Jitesh Sharma, and Ravi Bishnoi are all vying for a spot on the big stage.

Yashasvi Jaiswal
Yashasvi Jaiswal and Ruturaj Gaikwad

One of the key questions for the selectors is the opening partnership. With the current squad in South Africa, a trio of talented young openers are competing for the position: Shubman Gill, Ruturaj Gaikwad, and Yashasvi Jaiswal. Former Indian captain Sunil Gavaskar believes Gill and Gaikwad would form the best-suited opening pair for the immediate series, while Gill and Jaiswal offer the advantage of a left-right combination.

“For this series, Shubman Gill and Ruturaj Gaikwad. Yashasvi Jaiswal is also there. He has also done well. If the team wants a left-hand, right-hand combination then Shubman Gill and Yashashvi Jaiswal,” Sunil Gavaskar stated before the first T20I.

ALSO READ: England Unleash Mystery Spinners In Pursuit Of Elusive India Series Win

However, the return of Rohit Sharma adds another layer of complexity. His potential presence alongside Gill would likely be the preferred opening duo, leaving the younger players to compete for the remaining spots.

Sunil Gavaskar
Sunil Gavaskar

“It’s a very good problem to have,” Sunil Gavaskar acknowledged. “Also, there is Rohit Sharma, who is waiting, whether he is going to be available for the T20 World Cup that remains to be seen.”

The first T20I against South Africa was unfortunately washed out due to rain, but the series continues on Tuesday in Port Elizabeth. As the competition unfolds, the selectors will have a fascinating task in choosing the best players to represent India at the T20 World Cup. The abundance of young talent presents a positive challenge, ensuring India has a strong team to compete for the title.

ALSO READ: Irfan Pathan Picks Jitesh Sharma Over Ishan Kishan For India’s T20 World Cup Hopes

India’s squad for three T20Is: Yashasvi Jaiswal, Shubman Gill, Ruturaj Gaikwad, Tilak Varma, Suryakumar Yadav (C), Rinku Singh, Shreyas Iyer, Ishan Kishan (wk), Jitesh Sharma (wk), Ravindra Jadeja (VC), Washington Sundar, Ravi Bishnoi, Kuldeep Yadav, Arshdeep Singh, Mohd. Siraj, Mukesh Kumar, Deepak Chahar.