IPL 2024
Sunil Narine’s Lack of Effort Highlights Bizarre Run-Out In IPL Match
By CricShots - Mar 23, 2024 8:31 pm
Views 17

In a surprising turn of events during the IPL match between Sunrisers Hyderabad and Kolkata Knight Riders, Sunil Narine’s lack of effort on the field left fans baffled. Despite the usual expectation of players giving their all, Narine’s casual approach became evident during a crucial moment in the game.

Sunil Narine
Sunil Narine witnessed an unfortunate run-out

Opting to chase after winning the toss, Sunrisers Hyderabad’s new skipper, Pat Cummins, set the tone early. However, Phil Salt’s aggressive batting for the Kolkata Knight Riders seemed to shift the momentum in their favour. With the scoreboard ticking quickly, the hosts appeared to be in control.

WATCH – Rishabh Pant’s Alert Stumping Sends Jitesh Sharma Packing

But amidst the excitement, a bizarre incident unfolded. As Phil Salt played a shot towards backward point, Sunil Narine, without any apparent reason, ventured out of his crease looking for a single. However, realizing there was no run to be had, Narine made a half-hearted attempt to return to safety. Unfortunately, his lack of urgency was evident as he failed to make any real effort to reach the crease.

Meanwhile, Shahbaz, fielding at backward point for Sunrisers, had other plans. With Narine caught off guard, Shahbaz swiftly collected the ball and aimed accurately at the stumps. Despite the simplicity of the run-out opportunity, Narine’s lack of intent was glaring as he made no attempt to dive or stretch to make his ground.

WATCH – Ishant Sharma’s Run-Out of Jonny Bairstow At Non-Striker’s End Leaves Fans Stunned

Consequently, a direct hit resulted in Narine being dismissed without even a semblance of a struggle. This incident left fans and spectators stunned, questioning Narine’s commitment and effort on the field, especially during such a crucial juncture in the game.


Kolkata Knight Riders (Playing XI): Philip Salt (wk), Venkatesh Iyer, Shreyas Iyer (c), Nitish Rana, Rinku Singh, Ramandeep Singh , Andre Russell, Sunil Narine, Mitchell Starc, Harshit Rana, Varun Chakaravarthy

Sunrisers Hyderabad (Playing XI): Mayank Agarwal, Rahul Tripathi, Aiden Markram, Heinrich Klaasen (wk), Abdul Samad, Shahbaz Ahmed, Marco Jansen, Pat Cummins (c), Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Mayank Markande, T Natarajan