“SunRisers Hyderabad’s second name has become change” – Aakash Chopra
By SMCS - Mar 8, 2024 9:50 am
Views 14

Former India player turned veteran commentator Aakash Chopra has said that the SunRisers Hyderabad have been trigger-happy in repeatedly changing their captain and coach. SRH parted ways with Brian Lara, who was their head coach last season and appointed Daniel Vettori in his place heading into IPL 2024. They recently replaced Aiden Markram with Pat Cummins as their captain for the upcoming edition of the prestigious league.

Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH)

In a video shared on his YouTube, he said, “SunRisers Hyderabad’s story is very interesting. They have played with a different coach and a different captain for four consecutive years. 2021 – David Warner and Trevor Bayliss, 2022 – Kane Williamson and Tom Moody, 2023 – Aiden Markram and Brian Lara, 2024 – Pat Cummins and Daniel Vettori.”

“Someone said change is the only constant but here SunRisers Hyderabad’s second name has become change. They believe a lot in changing everything. So they are trying to move forward with a new captain and coach combination for a fourth consecutive year. Whether it will happen or not, we shall find out,” the former India opener further added.

Pat Cummins
Pat Cummins

However, the SunRisers Hyderabad won the IPL title in 2016 and finished as the runners-up in 2018 as well. And, they have not reached the playoffs for the last three seasons as well. Notably, SRH released Harry Brook, Samarth Vyas, Kartik Tyagi, Vivrant Sharma, Akeal Hosein and Adil Rashid ahead of the IPL 2024 auction. And, they also exchanged Mayank Dagar for Shahbaz Ahmed with the Royal Challengers Bangalore. They also bought Pat Cummins (₹20.50 crore) and Travis Head (₹6.80 crore), Wanindu Hasaranga (₹1.50 crore), Jaydev Unadkat (₹1.60 crore), Akash Singh (₹20 lakh) and Jhathavedh Subramanyan (₹20 lakh) as well.

Meanwhile, they might have a tough time choosing the four overseas players in their playing XI. Apart from Cummins, Head
and Hasaranga, Heinrich Klaasen, Aiden Markram, Marco Jansen, Glenn Phillips and Fazalhaq Farooqi as part of their overseas players as well.