Suryakumar Yadav, Ishan Kishan Receive National Call Up For T20 Squad
By CricShots - Feb 20, 2021 9:52 pm
Views 120

The young Indian wicket-keeper batsman, Rishabh Pant has made a comeback to the Indian T20I squad as BCCI announced the team for the upcoming five-match series against England at home. The BCCI gave maiden call-ups to Mumbai Indians stars Suryakumar Yadav and Ishan Kishan in the T20I squad after their outstanding batting performances in IPL 2020 and in the domestic circuit.

suryakumar yadav
Suryakumar Yadav

Pant, who was earlier been excluded from the ODI and T29I series in Australia, made it back to the team after putting consistent performances in the Test format, in Australia, and in India.

ALSO READ: Virat Kohli Feels Satisfied With The New Recruits Of The RCB

Meanwhile, Kishan made their way into the T20I squad on the same day he played a dominating knock of 173 runs in 94 balls for Jharkhand in a Vijay Hazare match against Madhya Pradesh. With Kishan getting a call-up, wicket-keeper batsman Sanju Samson was dropped from the squad.

Rahul Tewatia, who grabbed a lot of limelight after spectacular match-winning knocks for Rajasthan Royals (RR) in the 13th edition of the IPL, also received a maiden call in the team. Varun Chakravarthy, who was initially named in the T20 squad for Australia, but later had to pull out due to injury, was also named in the squad. However, Kuldeep Yadav hasn’t been included in the squad.

ALSO READ: BCCI Shares The Aerial View Of Team India’s Practice Session At Motera

In the fast bowling department, Bhuvneshwar Kumar will make a comeback in the national squad along with Deepak Chahar, while Jasprit Bumrah was rested.

India T20I Squad for the England series: Virat Kohli (Capt), Rohit Sharma (vc), KL Rahul, Shikhar Dhawan, Shreyas Iyer, Suryakumar Yadav, Hardik, Rishabh Pant (wk), Ishan Kishan (wk), Y Chahal, Varun Chakravarthy, Axar Patel, W Sundar, R Tewatia, T Natarajan, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Deepak Chahar, Navdeep Saini, Shardul Thakur