Suryakumar Yadav Named India’s Captain For T20 Series Against Australia
By CricShots - Nov 20, 2023 11:30 pm
Views 47

Following Australia’s triumph in the ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup 2023, the cricketing world now eagerly awaits the upcoming five-match T20I series between India and Australia. The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) has recently announced India’s squad for the series, which will kick off on November 23 in Vizag and culminate with the final on December 3 in Hyderabad.

Suryakumar Yadav
Suryakumar Yadav

Senior players like Virat Kohli, Rohit Sharma, and Jasprit Bumrah have been rested for the entire series, granting them a well-deserved respite after an intense cricket season. Hardik Pandya, initially the preferred choice to lead India, will miss the series due to a left ankle ligament tear sustained during the ODI World Cup 2023.

ALSO READ: Glenn Maxwell’s Wife Vini Raman Slams Trolls After Australia’s World Cup Win

In his absence, Suryakumar Yadav will take the reins as captain. Yadav previously served as the T20 vice-captain during the series against West Indies earlier this year.


With a wealth of experience captaining the Mumbai and India Under-23 teams, Suryakumar Yadav brings significant leadership qualities to the table. Another notable addition to the squad is Shreyas Iyer, who was part of the ODI World Cup squad that reached the final before succumbing to Australia. Iyer will join the team for the last two T20Is and serve as the vice-captain.

India’s T20I squad against Australia: Suryakumar Yadav (Captain), Ruturaj Gaikwad (vice-captain), Ishan Kishan, Yashasvi Jaiswal, Tilak Varma, Rinku Singh, Jitesh Sharma (wk), Washington Sundar, Axar Patel, Shivam Dubey, Ravi Bishnoi, Arshdeep Singh, Prasidh Krishna, Avesh Khan, and Mukesh Kumar.

ALSO READ: Brett Lee Crowns Virat Kohli The Greatest ODI Batter Of All Time

The T20I series promises to be a thrilling spectacle, with both teams boasting world-class talent and a fervent competitive spirit. The series will be played across five venues – Vizag, Trivandrum, Guwahati, Nagpur, and Hyderabad. Here’s a list of the dates and venues for each match:

  • India vs Australia 1st T20: Vizag
  • India vs Australia 2nd T20: November 26 in Trivandrum
  • India vs Australia 3rd T20: November 28 in Guwahati
  • India vs Australia 4th T20: December 1 in Raipur
  • India vs Australia 5th T20: December 3 in Hyderabad