Suryakumar Yadav Receives A Call Back Into The Indian Test Squad
By CricShots - Jan 13, 2023 11:00 pm
Views 105

On Friday, BCCI announced the squad for the first two Test of the 4-match series India Test series against Australia. While Rohit Sharma will lead the men in blue, KL Rahul is named as the vice-captain. The young opener, Prithvi Shaw and Sarfaraz Khan who have performed brilliantly in the domestic game have failed to make a cut. On the other hand, Ravindra Jadeja who has been out due to injury will be making a comeback.

Suryakumar Yadav
Suryakumar Yadav and Shreyas Iyer

The Indian fans were not happy after Sarfaraz Khan wasn’t picked for the Test series against Australia scheduled to be commencing on February 9. Sarfaraz has been the most consistent run-scorer in India’s domestic cricket and has been banging on the selection doors for quite some time. However, the national selectors have continued ignoring him.

ALSO READ: Hardik Pandya To Lead India In The T20s Against New Zealand

In the 2021-22 edition of the Ranji Trophy where Mumbai finished as the runner-up, Sarfaraz amassed as many as 982 runs at an average of 122.75 with four centuries, two fifties, and a top score of 275 to show for his efforts. Even in the ongoing edition of the first-class tournament, Sarfaraz has notched 431 runs at an average of 107.75 and a strike rate of 70.54 with two centuries, one half-century, and a top score of 162.

In 36 first-class matches since his debut back in 2014, the 25-year-old has notched 3380 runs at an average of 80.47 with 12 centuries and nine fifties.

ALSO READ: Moeen Ali Reveals He Enjoys Playing Alongside Virat Kohli

India preferred Suryakumar Yadav, who has been in brilliant form in T20Is, for the Australia Tests. He also played a couple of matches for Mumbai in the Ranji Trophy. Ishan Kishan, who hit his maiden ODI double ton last month, also earned his maiden Test call-up.

India’s squad for first 2 Tests vs Australia:

Rohit Sharma (C), KL Rahul (vc), Shubman Gill, Cheteshwar Pujara, Virat Kohli, Shreyas Iyer, KS Bharat (wk), Ishan Kishan (wk), R Ashwin, Axar Patel, Kuldeep Yadav, Ravindra Jadeja, Mohammed Shami, Mohammad Siraj, Umesh Yadav, Jaydev Unadkat, Suryakumar Yadav

The fans, in the meantime, slammed the BCCI for giving Sarfaraz a Test call-up for the Border-Gavaskar Trophy.