Fantasy Tips
T20 WC 2024: Match 8 (India vs Ireland) – Playing XI and Fantasy XI Predictions
By CricShots - Jun 5, 2024 11:18 am
Views 117

The Indian men’s cricket team, captained by Rohit Sharma, is gearing up to kick off its campaign in the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2024. The action begins on Wednesday, June 5, with a face-off against Ireland at the Nassau County Cricket Stadium in New York. This marks India’s first match of the tournament as they set their sights on securing their first ICC trophy in over a decade. The team’s last triumph came in 2013 under MS Dhoni’s leadership when they clinched the ICC Champions Trophy.

India Ireland
India vs Ireland

For Rohit Sharma, this tournament represents a critical opportunity. Six months ago, his team narrowly missed claiming the ODI World Cup title, losing to Australia in the final. As the captain and a key batsman, Rohit is expected to lead from the front and likely open the batting. However, a significant decision looms: determining his opening partner.

Yashasvi Jaiswal is the squad’s other natural opener, but Virat Kohli’s stellar performance in the IPL 2024—where he topped the charts with 741 runs to win the Orange Cap—makes him a strong contender for the role.  Rishabh Pant is set to return as the first-choice wicketkeeper-batter, marking his comeback from injury with his first official appearance for India since his recovery. In a warm-up game against Bangladesh, India showcased their formidable form by securing a commanding 60-run victory.

ALSO READ: “Certainly not going to be IPL kind of scores” – Rohit Sharma on the challenges of playing in the US

India set a challenging target of 183, which Bangladesh struggled to chase, only managing to score 120 runs. Pant, making a notable return, scored a brilliant half-century, while Hardik Pandya contributed significantly with an unbeaten 40 off 23 balls. Suryakumar Yadav also chipped in with a quickfire 31 off 18 deliveries. The Indian bowlers collectively restricted Bangladesh, ensuring a comprehensive win.

Historically, India has dominated Ireland in T20 World Cup encounters. Their only previous meeting was in 2009 at Trent Bridge, where India emerged victorious by eight wickets. Notably, Rohit Sharma is the sole player from that match who remains part of the current squad, bringing valuable experience to the team as they embark on their quest for glory in this year’s tournament.

Team India

Team India
Team India

Rahul Dravid has remained reticent, strategically keeping his decisions under wraps to preserve an element of surprise until the game begins. The opening partnership is still shrouded in mystery, adding to the anticipation. Additionally, a critical selection challenge lies in choosing between Mohammed Siraj and Arshdeep Singh for the role of the second pacer to support Jasprit Bumrah. Hardik Pandya is expected to fulfil the role of the third pacer, also serving as the sixth bowling option. The spin department is likely to feature both left-arm spinners, Ravindra Jadeja and Axar Patel, alongside the crafty Kuldeep Yadav.

Probable XI: Rohit Sharma (c), Virat Kohli, Rishabh Pant, Suryakumar Yadav, Shivam Dube, Hardik Pandya, Ravindra Jadeja, Axar Patel, Kuldeep Yadav, Jasprit Bumrah and Arshdeep Singh.


Ireland team

Coach Heinrich Malan is instilling a strong sense of belief in his Irish players, emphasizing that they have what it takes to defeat India. The Irish team has a reputation for surprising favorites, a fact they underscored in the last Twenty20 World Cup in Australia in 2022 by defeating the eventual champions, England. Their recent victory over Pakistan less than a month ago further highlights their potential to upset strong opponents, a reality that India must approach with caution. Among the Irish squad, wicketkeeper Lorcan Tucker stands out as a particularly dangerous player, capable of turning the game in his team’s favor.

Probable XI: Andy Balbirnie, Paul Stirling (c), Lorcan Tucker, Harry Tector, Curtis Campher, George Dockrell, Gareth Delany, Mark Adair, Barry McCarthy, Craig Young/Ben White, Josh Little

Fantasy XI Suggestion 1: 

Virat Kohli (c), Lorcan Tucker (wk), Rishabh Pant, Hardik Pandya, Paul Stirling, Ravindra Jadeja (vc), Axar Patel, Curtis Campher, George Dockrell, Jasprit Bumrah, Kuldeep Yadav

Fantasy XI Suggestion 2: 

Rishabh Pant, Lorcan Tucker, Virat Kohli, Suryakumar Yadav, Rohit Sharma, Ravindra Jadeja, Hardik Pandya (vc), Mark Adair, Jasprit Bumrah (c), Joshua Little, Kuldeep Yadav