T20 WC: Watch: Virat Kohli Comes To Bowl Against Australia In Warm-up Game
By Aditya Pratap - Oct 20, 2021 5:17 pm
Views 212

India and Australia are facing each other in their second and the last warm-up game of the T20 World Cup 2021 in Dubai’s ICC Academy Ground. Both teams will try to iron out their flaws before the main tournament starts later this week.

Virat Kohli bowling against Australia

Virat Kohli is resting for this game and Rohit Sharma led the team in his absence. Aaron Finch won the toss and opted to bat first. Both captains mentioned they wanted to bat first as they chased in their first warm-up game. Apart from Kohli, Mohammed Shami and Jasprit Bumrah are rested as well. For Australia, Josh Inglis, Josh Hazlewood and Mitchell Swepson are missing from this game.

Also Read: Virat Kohli confirms he will bat at no. 3 during T20 World Cup

Australian openers David Warner and Finch walked out to open the innings. Warner. who is going through a lean patch with the bat, got out for another low score. Ravichandran Ashwin trapped him LBW for 7-ball 1 before dismissing Mitchell Marsh for a golden duck.

Ravindra Jadeja, then, dismissed Finch as Australia found themselves reeling at 11/3 in 3.1 overs with Steve Smith and Glenn Maxwell batting in the middle.

In the quest to find the sixth bowling option, Virat Kohli rolled his arm during this warm-up game. He was rested but came out to bowl after the powerplay. Everyone was surprised when Rohit Sharma handed the ball to Virat in the seventh over. He conceded just four runs in his first over. Kohli, then, returned to bowl the 13th over and gave 8 runs in it.

Also Read: Virat Kohli’s wax statue unveils at Dubai’s Madame Tussauds Museum

Watch the video here;


View this post on Instagram


A post shared by ICC (@icc) 

Rohit Sharma mentioned at the toss that he and Kohli may try to bowl a few overs until Hardik Pandya starts bowling.

India (11 batting, 11 fielding): KL Rahul, Rohit Sharma(c), Ishan Kishan(w), Rishabh Pant, Suryakumar Yadav, Hardik Pandya, Ravindra Jadeja, Shardul Thakur, Ravichandran Ashwin, Rahul Chahar, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Varun Chakaravarthy.

Australia (11 batting, 11 fielding): David Warner, Aaron Finch(c), Mitchell Marsh, Steven Smith, Marcus Stoinis, Glenn Maxwell, Matthew Wade(w), Pat Cummins, Ashton Agar, Mitchell Starc, Kane Richardson, Adam Zampa.

Here is how the Indian fans reacted to Virat Kohli’s bowling: