Fantasy Tips
T20 World Cup 2024: Final (India vs South Africa) – Probable XI and Fantasy XI
By CricShots - Jun 29, 2024 11:33 am
Views 191

The ICC T20 World Cup 2024 final will be a thrilling contest between India and South Africa, scheduled to take place on June 29th at the iconic Kensington Oval in Bridgetown, Barbados. This highly anticipated match pits the two undefeated teams of the tournament against each other, setting the stage for an exciting showdown for the prestigious T20 World Cup trophy. India has showcased remarkable form throughout the tournament, emerging victorious in all three of their Super 8 stage matches.

india south africa
India vs South Africa

They secured their position as table toppers and carried their momentum into the semi-finals, where they delivered a stunning performance against England, winning by a significant margin of 68 runs. This victory has bolstered their confidence as they head into the final. Similarly, South Africa has been in stellar form, mirroring India’s unbeaten run in the Super 8 stage to also finish as table toppers. Their journey to the final was marked by a dominant semi-final performance against Afghanistan. South Africa’s bowlers and batsmen were in perfect sync, as they chased down Afghanistan’s total in just 8.5 overs, highlighting their readiness for the ultimate test in the final.

A notable aspect of this final is the contrasting histories of the two teams in ICC World Cup tournaments. India has tasted glory before, with their last World Cup triumph coming in 2011. On the other hand, South Africa has yet to lift an ICC World Cup trophy, adding an extra layer of motivation and hunger to their campaign. The prospect of winning their first World Cup title is bound to fuel their determination. Historically, India holds a slight edge over South Africa in T20Is, having won 14 out of the 26 matches played between the two sides.

ALSO READ: “We Shouldn’t Even Be Questioning”: Sunil Gavaskar on Ravindra Jadeja

In T20 World Cups specifically, India has been more dominant, winning 4 out of the 6 encounters. However, past records may have little bearing on this high-stakes final, where both teams are in top form and eager to claim the championship. Fans around the world are eagerly awaiting this clash of titans, anticipating a contest filled with intense competition, strategic brilliance, and spectacular performances. With both teams equally matched and driven by the desire to emerge victorious, the final promises to be a memorable chapter in the history of T20 cricket.


Team India

India is expected to stick with their three-prong spin attack. The left-arm orthodox spin of Axar Patel and Ravindra Jadeja could be particularly effective against Quinton de Kock and Aiden Markram, who have been dismissed by this type of bowling seven times combined in T20Is since 2022. Kuldeep Yadav also has a good record against de Kock, having dismissed him twice in just 20 deliveries. Arshdeep Singh has a strong matchup against the opener as well, with three dismissals in 32 balls for only 31 runs. Additionally, Hardik Pandya has had success against his former Gujarat Titans teammate David Miller, taking his wicket four times.

Probable XI: Rohit Sharma (c), Virat Kohli, Rishabh Pant (wk), Suryakumar Yadav, Shivam Dube, Hardik Pandya, Ravindra Jadeja, Axar Patel, Kuldeep Yadav, Arshdeep Singh, Jasprit Bumrah

South Africa

South Africa
South Africa

Kagiso Rabada will be crucial, especially at the start. He has dismissed both Rohit Sharma and Virat Kohli four times each in T20s, with the two Indian batsmen having strike rates of 118.42 and 106.25 respectively against him. Rabada has also taken Suryakumar Yadav’s wicket three times, though Yadav has scored 126 runs off him in 68 balls, boasting a strike rate of 185.29. Anrich Nortje has also been effective against Kohli, dismissing him three times in 33 balls while conceding only 35 runs. Keshav Maharaj might be a key bowler against Rishabh Pant, having dismissed him twice in eight deliveries.

Probable XI: Quinton de Kock (wk), Reeza Hendricks, Aiden Markram (c), Heinrich Klaasen, David Miller, Tristan Stubbs, Marco Jansen, Keshav Maharaj, Kagiso Rabada, Anrich Nortje, Tabraiz Shamsi

Fantasy XI Suggestion 1: 

Quinton de Kock, Rishabh Pant, Virat Kohli, Rohit Sharma (c), Suryakumar Yadav, Aiden Markram, Axar Patel, Hardik Pandya (vc), Marco Jansen, Jasprit Bumrah, Kuldeep Yadav

Fantasy XI Suggestion 2:

Quinton de Kock, Virat Kohli, Rohit Sharma, Suryakumar Yadav, Aiden Markram, Axar Patel, Hardik Pandya, Marco Jansen, Jasprit Bumrah (vc), Kuldeep Yadav (c), Kagiso Rabada