The ICC Cricket World Cup encounter between South Africa and Pakistan was nothing short of a rollercoaster, filled with dramatic twists, impressive batting, and exceptional bowling, but it was a controversial moment that took center stage. Haris Rauf’s LBW appeal to dismiss Shamsi left the cricketing world buzzing with debate. Pakistan’s innings got off to a rocky start, with wickets falling at regular intervals.
Captain Babar Azam provided some stability, but his dismissal immediately after reaching fifty threatened Pakistan’s hopes. However, the true heroes with the bat were the lower-order duo, Shadab Khan and Saud Shakeel, both of whom played pivotal innings, each scoring essential fifties to help Pakistan reach a competitive total of 270. South Africa, known for their explosive batting, were expected to chase down the target with ease.
Aiden Markram anchored the innings with a remarkable 91 off 93 balls, including seven fours and three sixes. However, the Proteas faced familiar issues with their chase, finding themselves at nine wickets down with 11 runs required and their last pair, Tabraiz Shamsi and Keshav Maharaj, at the crease. Shamsi and Maharaj displayed composure and skill as they navigated the pacers’ deliveries.
The match took a dramatic turn in the 46th over, as Haris Rauf bowled a lightning-fast delivery that left Shamsi bewildered, hitting his pad directly in front of the stumps. The appeals from the Pakistani team were fervent, but the on-field umpire remained uncertain, giving it a no-call. With just one review remaining and the fate of the game hanging in the balance, Pakistan’s captain, Babar Azam, decided to refer the no-call to the third umpire, hoping to save the match.
However, Pakistan’s hopes were dashed as the DRS displayed that the decision should be “Umpire’s Call,” rendering their review invalid, and the original decision stood. South Africa was granted a lifeline. In the end, South Africa emerged victorious, with Keshav Maharaj sealing the historic win by guiding the ball to the boundary. This victory marked the end of a 24-year drought for South Africa, as they had not defeated Pakistan in an ODI World Cup match during that period.
The controversial DRS decision sparked widespread debate within the cricketing community and among fans. It raised questions about the necessity and effectiveness of DRS technology. Prominent commentator Harsha Bhogle also weighed in on social media to share his perspective on the use of DRS technology. The incident served as a catalyst for discussions on the role and reliability of technology in the modern game of cricket.
I suspect it is time to explain “Umpire’s Call” again. After the ball strikes the pad, what you see is a projection of where the ball might have been, it isn’t the actual ball because that has met an obstruction. If more than 50% of the ball is projected to hit the stumps, you…
— Harsha Bhogle (@bhogleharsha) October 27, 2023
Ball hitting the stump is out Harsha simple ! This can happen with indian team tomorrow. ICC need to either stick to tech or umpire call .. there isn’t a need of tech in the game if umpires call is the last call. You can’t have one suggesting out and one saying not out ! Rubbish… https://t.co/IA2DdEGl5v
— Harbhajan Turbanator (@harbhajan_singh) October 27, 2023
— Anshu Chauhan (@chauhandwarrior) October 27, 2023
This is what you call DRS manipulation pic.twitter.com/624weubtkD
— Haroon (@hazharoon) October 27, 2023
— Arfa Feroz Zake (@ArfaSays_) October 27, 2023
Pakistan were unlucky..but so was Rassie van der Dussen.
That’s why I feel instead of 50 percent ball, 25 percent ball hitting the stumps should be given as hitting the wickets on DRS.
Less than 25 percent can have umpire’s call or anything else.
25 percent just seems fair.
— Anuj Nitin Prabhu (@APTalksCricket) October 27, 2023