Team India Condoles The Demise Of Lata Mangeshkar Donning Black Armbands
By CricShots - Feb 6, 2022 2:35 pm
Views 156

The three-match ODI series between India and West Indies has commenced at the Narendra Modi Stadium in Ahmedabad. The first ODI of the series is currently being played. Team India decided to console the demise of the legendary Indian singer, Lata Mangeshkar as the players were seen donning black armbands in the first ODI against West Indies.

Lata mangeshkar
Team India donning the black armbands

On Sunday, Dr Pratit Samdani, who was treating Lata Mangeshkar at Mumbai’s Breach Candy Hospital, said, “It is with profound grief that we announce the sad demise of Lata Mangeshkar at 8:12 am. She has died because of multi-organ failure after more than 28 days of hospitalisation post-Covid-19.”

ALSO READ: Former India cricketer Suresh Raina lost his father

Lata Mangeshkar was an Indian playback singer and occasional music composer and was popularly known as “Nightingale of India” for her melodious voice.

Board of Control for Cricket in India’s (BCCI) Vice-President Rajeev Shukla said, “Indian Players will sport black armbands in the first ODI against West Indies at the Narendra Modi Stadium to condole the demise of Lata Mangeshkar. The national flag will fly at half-mast”.

The three-match ODI series between India and West Indies will be played at the Narendra Modi Stadium in Ahmedabad.  Yesterday, batsmen Ishan Kishan and Shahrukh Khan were added to the Indian squad after four India players — opener Shikhar Dhawan, fellow batsmen Ruturaj Gaikwad and Shreyas Iyer, and standby bowler Navdeep Saini — tested positive for Covid-19 last week, as well as three members of the support staff.

ALSO READ: KL Rahul Reacts As Athiya Shetty Does A Photshoot In His Hoodie

India Playing XI: Rohit Sharma (c), Ishan Kishan, Virat Kohli, Rishabh Pant (wk), Suryakumar Yadav, Deepak Hooda, Washington Sundar, Shardul Thakur, Mohammed Siraj, Yuzvendra Chahal, Prasidh Krishna

West Indies Playing XI: Brandon King, Shai Hope (wk), Darren Bravo, Shamarh Brooks, Nicholas Pooran, Kieron Pollard (c), Jason Holder, Fabian Allen, Alzarri Joseph, Akeal Hosein, Kemar Roach