Team India Fined With 20-per-cent Match Fees For Slow Over-rate
By CricShots - Nov 28, 2020 4:47 pm
Views 48

Team India players have received a fine of 20 percent of their match fee for maintaining a slow over-rate in the first ODI of the three-match series against Australia in Sydney. In a press release regarding the same, the International Cricket Council (ICC) said on Saturday that there was no need for a formal hearing after the Indian skipper, Virat Kohli pleaded guilty to the offense.

india fielding
Team India did some sloppy fielding in Sydney

The Indian team was deemed to be over short of the target despite considering the time allowances. India suffered a loss in the series opener of the first ODI at the Sydney Cricket Ground (SCG) on Friday by 66 runs after failing to chase down a mammoth 375-run target set by the hosts. The second ODI is slated to take place on Sunday at the same venue.

ALSO READ: Virat Kohli Seems To Be Impressed With Harry Kane’s Batting Ability

In the press release, ICC said, “David Boon of the Emirates ICC Elite Panel of Match Referees imposed the sanction after Virat Kohli’s side was ruled to be one over short of the target after time allowances were taken into consideration. In accordance with Article 2.22 of the ICC Code of Conduct for Players and Player Support Personnel, which relates to minimum over-rate offenses, players are fined 20 percent of their match fee for every over their side fails to bowl in the allotted time.”

australia india
Australian bowlers were too hot to handle for the Indian batsmen

They further added, “Kohli pleaded guilty to the offence and accepted the proposed sanction, so there was no need for a formal hearing. On-field umpires Rod Tucker and Sam Nogajski, TV umpire Paul Reiffel and fourth umpire Gerard Abood leveled the charge.”

ALSO READ: Adam Gilchrist Apologises For His Commentary Error For Navdeep Saini

Australia registered a dominating win of 66 runs over India in the opening match of the 3-match ODI series at the Sydney Cricket Ground on Friday. The three main architects of Australia’s big win — Steve Smith, Aaron Finch, and Glenn Maxwell — all roared back to form after ordinary Indian Premier League (IPL) 2020 campaigns.