IPL 2024
Travis Head’s Explosive Batting Display Smashes Mumbai Indians’ Bowlers
By CricShots - Mar 27, 2024 9:04 pm
Views 25

Sunrisers Hyderabad witnessed a spectacular start in their thrilling clash against Mumbai Indians at the Rajiv Gandhi International Stadium, all thanks to opener Travis Head’s sensational power-hitting display. Head launched a merciless assault on Mumbai’s bowlers right from the onset, particularly targeting debutant Kwena Maphaka.

Travis Head
Travis Head

The third over witnessed Head’s ferocious onslaught, where he hammered two sixes and two fours off Maphaka, accumulating a staggering 22 runs. This early onslaught set the stage for Head’s aggressive innings. He continued his onslaught in the fifth over, this time targeting MI skipper Hardik Pandya, unleashing three consecutive boundaries and racing to his fifty in a mere 18 balls, a record-breaking feat for an SRH batter in the tournament.

WATCH – Sachin Tendulkar Honors Rohit Sharma’s 200th IPL Game With Special Tribute

Even the following over, bowled by Gerald Coetzee, couldn’t contain Head’s onslaught as he and his partner piled on the runs, propelling SRH to an imposing total of 81/1 after the Powerplay overs, their highest Powerplay score in the league. By the time Coetzee dismissed the Australian opener, Head had already amassed a blistering 62 off just 24 balls, including three sixes and nine fours.


In a strategic move, Mumbai Indians won the toss and elected to bowl first, hoping to seize control of the game. SRH, on the other hand, made tactical changes, bringing in Travis Head for Marco Jansen and Jaydev Unadkat in place of the injured T Natarajan. Meanwhile, Mumbai Indians handed IPL debut to Kwena Maphaka, replacing Luke Wood.

ALSO READ: Steve Smith Reflects On Leadership Lessons From MS Dhoni In IPL Captaincy

As both teams aimed for redemption following their previous losses, Head’s explosive innings provided Sunrisers Hyderabad with a solid platform to build upon, setting the stage for an electrifying showdown in the Indian Premier League.