IPL 2024
Trent Boult Strikes Early: Dismisses Abhishek Sharma in First Over Duel
By CricShots - May 24, 2024 8:22 pm
Views 26

Rajasthan Royals (RR) pacer Trent Boult and his knack for taking first-over wickets is a sight to behold. For more than a decade, Boult has been a consistent threat with the new ball, often delivering crucial early breakthroughs. In the Qualifier 2 match between RR and Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH), Boult once again demonstrated his skill by taking a wicket in his very first over.

Trent Boult
Trent Boult bowled a phenomenal first over

RR captain Sanju Samson opted to bowl first, hoping his bowlers could provide an early breakthrough. Boult, true to form, did not disappoint. Despite being hit for a six and a four early in the over, Boult struck back on the final delivery, claiming the significant wicket of Abhishek Sharma.

The delivery was a sharp, short ball on the off-stump line. Abhishek Sharma, unable to position himself properly, attempted to power it towards the leg side. However, he only managed to get a top edge, and the ball ballooned towards backward point, where Tom Kohler-Cadmore took an easy catch.

WATCH – Imagine Dragons Dedicate Song To Virat Kohli And Team India Ahead of T20 World Cup 2024

This wicket was particularly important for RR, as SRH’s openers have been pivotal to their success this season. When SRH’s openers stay intact during the Powerplay, they tend to dominate their opponents. Boult’s early strike was a crucial step in disrupting SRH’s game plan and setting the tone for RR’s bowling attack in this high-stakes match.


Sunrisers Hyderabad (Playing XI): Travis Head, Abhishek Sharma, Rahul Tripathi, Nitish Reddy, Aiden Markram, Heinrich Klaasen(w), Abdul Samad, Pat Cummins(c), Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Jaydev Unadkat, T Natarajan

ALSO READ: Suresh Raina’s Sharp Reply To Journalist Reignites India-Pakistan Cricket Rivalry

Rajasthan Royals (Playing XI): Yashasvi Jaiswal, Tom Kohler-Cadmore, Sanju Samson(w/c), Riyan Parag, Dhruv Jurel, Rovman Powell, Ravichandran Ashwin, Trent Boult, Avesh Khan, Sandeep Sharma, Yuzvendra Chahal