Twitter Reaction
TV Umpire Faces Heat After The Controversial Dismissal Of Hardik Pandya
By CricShots - Jan 18, 2023 5:21 pm
Views 30

Team India is locking horns with New Zealand in the opening game of the three-match series at the Rajiv Gandhi International Stadium in Hyderabad. TV umpire of the match, KN Ananthapadmanabhan received a lot of flak for his decision of the controversial dismissal of the Indian all-rounder, Hardik Pandya. 

TV umpire
TV umpire gave Hardik Pandya out

Earlier in the game, the Indian skipper, Rohit Sharma won the toss and decided to bat first on a dry-looking pitch. India made three changes as compared to the last ODI against Sri Lanka and all were forced changes as Axar Patel, KL Rahul, and Shreyas Iyer aren’t available ad they were replaced by Shardul Thakur, Hardik Pandya, and Ishan Kishan.

ALSO READ: Ian Heally Feels India Produced Unreasonable Pitches For Australia In 2017

There was widespread disbelief among cricket fans and even the commentary box when Hardik Pandya was given out by the TV umpire in the 40th over of the innings. The TV replays visibly showed to many that the ball missed the stumps and it seemed clear that the wicket-keeper’s gloves were hitting the stumps leading to the bails flashing.

However, after a lengthy check, the third umpire decided to give Hardik out in a decision that left cricket lovers fuming. Hardik scored 28 runs in 38 balls as India looked set to cross the 300-run mark with Shubman Gill leading the way with a stunning century.

Here is the video of the dismissal of Hardik Pandya:

R Ashwin wasn’t happy with what transpired and opened up about it on Twitter as he said that the cut shot from Gill where Latham accidentally dislodged the bails once again proved why Pandya was clearly not out. Ashwin tweeted, “Forget about split screens and replays, the cut shot from Shubman Gill proved why Hardik was clearly Not Out. #indvsnz”.

Former cricketer Wasim Jaffer said that the India all-rounder was robbed during the first ODI and explained why it wasn’t out. “1. Clear gap between ball and bails. 2. Ball is inside gloves, bails not lit yet. 3. Bails lit after brush from gloves. Hardik robbed there. #INDvNZ,” said Jaffer.

https://twitter.com/WasimJaffer14/status/1615668973055676416?s=20&t=0QAosoQduxajFqmowpumxw

Here is how the Indian fans reacted to the dismissal:

×