Twitter Reactions: Gayle-Hetmyer smashing century in their WC Qualifier opener
By Sandy - Mar 6, 2018 1:04 pm
Views 57

Experienced Windies opener Chris Gayle and 21-years old young Shimron Hetmyer smashed superb centuries during their opening encounter of the 2018 ICC Cricket World Cup Qualifiers. Playing against United Arab Emirates (UAE), Gayle played a magnificent 123-runs knock off just 91 balls while Hetmyer had a 127-runs innings off 93 balls.

Chris Gayle

After winning the toss, Windies decided to bat first. Along with the other opener Evin Lewis, Gayle put 88-runs partnership for the first wicket. After Lewis was dismissed, left-handed batsman Shimron Hetmyer joined with Gayle.

Also read: Windies taking seriously every other teams in the Qualifier

Gayle started his innings in the slow fashion and gradually increased his attacking nature. Just before Lewis’ dismissal, Gayle completed his half-century in 47 balls.

Soon after, Gayle completed his 23rd ODI century in 79 balls. Staying 114 minutes on the crease, Gayle scored 123 runs off 91 balls with 7 fours and 11 sixes.

Gayle and Hetmyer provided the 103-runs partnership for the second wicket before Gayle was caught out.

At next, Marlon Samuels put a 77-runs partnership with Hetmyer before he lost his wicket for 15 runs.

Also read: Brian Lara believes Windies will qualify for the 2019 ICC CWC

Hetmyer also completed his century in just 78 balls. Hetmyer was dismissed in 48th over after scoring 127 runs off 93 balls where he hit 14 fours and 4 sixes.

Shai Hope and the skipper Jason Holder played some quick-fire knocks at the end as Windies put a massive total of 357/4 in 50 overs. Hope was retired hurt after scoring 35 runs off 27 balls with the only four and 3 sixes. Meanwhile, Holder scored 12 runs off just 6 balls with only over-boundary.

Among the UAE bowlers, Amir Hayat (1/80), Rohan Mustafa (1/66), Imran Haider (1/62) and Ahmed Raza (1/67) picked up one wicket each.

Playing XI

Windies: Chris Gayle, Evin Lewis, Shimron Hetmyer, Marlon Samuels, Shai Hope (wk), Jason Mohammed, Jason Holder(c), Kemar Roach, Ashley Nurse, Sheldon Cottrell, Nikita Miller.

United Arab Emirates: Rohan Mustafa(c), Chirag Suri, Ghulam Shabber (wk), Rameez Shahzad, Shaiman Anwar, Adnan Mufti, Muhammad Usman, Ahmed Raza, Amir Hayat, Imran Haider, Mohammad Naveed.

Here are some Twitter reactions