Twitter Reaction
Twitter Reactions: Indian squad for the 2018 Asia Cup
By Sandy - Sep 1, 2018 5:40 pm
Views 33
Share Post

On Saturday, the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) has announced the 16-man Indian cricket team squad for the upcoming 2018 Asia Cup, starting from September 15.

Indian cricket team

The 14th edition of Asia Cup cricket will be played in ODI format in United Arab Emirates (UAE). It is the third time for UAE to host Asia Cup, after the inaugural edition in 1984 and the fifth edition in 1995. The matches will be played at Dubai International Cricket Stadium (Dubai) and Sheikh Zayed Cricket Stadium (Abu Dhabi).

In 2018 Asia Cup, six teams will participate. The six teams are – six-time champions (including the T20 format) India, five-time champions Sri Lanka, two-time champions Pakistan, two-time runners-up Bangladesh, Afghanistan and the champion of the ongoing Qualifier. The arch-rivals India and Pakistan are seeded in the Group A along with the Qualifier while Sri Lanka, Bangladesh, and Afghanistan will fight in the Group B.

The 2018 Asia Cup will kick-off on September 15 with the match between Bangladesh and Sri Lanka. India will play their both group matches in consecutive days on September 18 and 19. The 2016 T20 Asia Cup champions India will meet against Pakistan in the Group Stages on September 19.

ALSO READ: Virat Kohli To Miss Asia Cup, Rohit Sharma To Lead

The final Group Stages match will be played on September 20 between Bangladesh and Afghanistan. At the end of the Group Stages, top two teams from each Group will qualify for the Super Four where each team will play against all other teams once from September 21 to 26. It means once again each team will play with their one Group Stages team during the Super Four round.

India against Pakistan

The top two teams in the final points table will advance for the final that will be played on September 28 at Dubai International Cricket Stadium (Dubai).

Indian skipper Virat Kohli has been rested in the Asia Cup tournament while the limited-overs vice-captain Rohit Sharma will lead the squad in the tournament. Meanwhile, Sharma’s opening partner Shikhar Dhawan has been appointed for the vice-captain role in the upcoming continental tournament. The 20-year-old left-arm pacer Khaleel Ahmed has earned his maiden international call-up as he has been named in the Indian squad for the upcoming Asia Cup.

Indian full member Squad for Asia Cup 2018:

Rohit Sharma (c), Shikhar Dhawan (vice-captain), KL Rahul, Ambati Rayudu, Manish Pandey, Kedar Jadhav, MS Dhoni (wk), Dinesh Karthik, Hardik Pandya, Kuldeep Yadav, Yuzvendra Chahal, Axar Patel, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Jasprit Bumrah, Shardul Thakur, Khaleel Ahmed.