Twitter Reactions: Nidahas Trophy Final – Dinesh Karthik denied Bangladesh victory, India claimed the trophy
By Sandy - Mar 18, 2018 5:39 pm
Views 69

While it was looking like Bangladesh would take the Nidahas trophy fantastically, Indian wicketkeeper-batsman Dinesh Karthik snatched the match with the last ball six. In the Nidahas trophy final, India decided to field first after winning the toss. Bangladesh managed to score 166/8 at the end of 20 overs. In reply, when India needed to score five runs in the last ball, Dinesh Kartik hit a six to lead the nation to a victory.

Dinesh Karthik led Indian team to victory

During the first batting, Bangladesh lost their first three wickets in the powerplay. They scored 40/3 in the powerplay, while their both openers (Tamim Iqbal 15 and Liton Das 11) and the no.4 batsman Soumya Sarkar (1) were dismissed in that period.

At next, while the no.3 batsman Sabbir Rahman took the responsibility to carry the innings on his shoulder, he didn’t get enough support from the other batsmen to build up a good partnership.

Mushfiqur Rahim (9) and the skipper Shakib Al Hasan (7) lost their wicket cheaply, while Mahmudullah (21 runs off 16 balls) and Mehidy Hasan Miraz (19* runs off 7 balls) added some useful runs quickly in that innings.

However, Sabbir played the vital role for Bangladesh to put a good total on the board. After scoring 77 runs off 50 balls (7 fours and 4 sixes), Sabbir was bowled by Jaydev Undakat. His knock helped the Bangladesh team to score 166/8 (20 overs).

Among the Indian bowlers, Yuzvendra Chahal (3/18) bowled superbly in that innings as he picked up three wickets while Jaydev Unadkat (2/33) and Washington Sundar (1/20) got two and one wicket respectively.

In reply, India had also not a very good start but the skipper and opening batsman Rohit Sharma managed to come over from that and provided an important start. In the powerplay, India managed to score 56/2 out of which Rohit scored 39 runs.

While another opener Shikhar Dhawan (10) and no.3 batsman Suresh Raina (0) returned to the dressing room quickly, Rohit Sharma put an important 49 runs partnership for the third wicket along with KL Rahul.

While Rahul was dismissed for 24 runs, Rohit (56 runs) completed his half-century before he was dismissed by Nazmul Islam.

After Rohit’s dismissal, Indian batsmen mostly struggled against the superb Bangladeshi bowling effort.

India needed 34 runs in the last two overs when Vijay Shankar was feeling nervous in the crease and set batsman Manish Pandey (28 runs) was just dismissed.

Coming to just bat, Dinesh Karthik scored 22 runs in the 19th over. When India needed 12 runs in the last over, they managed 7 runs in the first five deliveries and lost Vijay Shankar’s (17 runs) wicket.

As a result, India needed 5 runs in the last ball and Karthik slammed for a six to secure a memorable victory for Indian cricket. India won that match by 4 wickets and claimed the trophy.

Among the Bangladesh bowlers, Rubel Hossain (2/35) picked up two wickets while Shakib  Al Hasan (1/28), Nazmul Islam (1/32), Mustafizur Rahman (1/21) and Soumya Sarkar (1/33) claimed a wicket each.

Some hilarious and match status Tweets

Appreciating the Sri Lankan support on the ground

On Shardul Thakur’s brilliant catch to dismiss dangerous Bangladeshi opener Tamim Iqbal

Indian skipper Rohit Sharma’s superb batting performance

On Dinesh Karthik’s match-winning knock