Twitter Reactions: Nidahas Trophy (Ind vs Ban) – India clinches a comfortable victory
By Sandy - Mar 8, 2018 5:31 pm
Views 58

After losing the opening game of the 2018 Nidahas trophy against the hosts Sri Lanka, India made a comeback in a style by beating Bangladesh in a comfortable manner. After winning the toss, Indian skipper Rohit Sharma decided to field first and his bowlers restricted the Bangladesh team for 139/8 (20 overs). In reply, India successfully chased down that target in 18.4 overs through Shikhar Dhawan’s brilliant batting as they won the match by 6 wickets with 8 balls to spare.

Shikhar Dhawan

There were regular wickets falling in Bangladesh innings as none of their batsmen was able to play a big knock. While openers Tamim Iqbal (15) and Soumya Sarkar (14) were sent back to the pavilion under 20-runs mark, Liton Das (34) and Sabbir Rahman (30) were the top two scorers in that innings. Skipper Mahmudullah and wicket-keeper Mushfiqur Rahim lost their wickets for just 1 and 18 runs respectively.

Among the Indian bowlers, left-arm pacer Jaydev Unadkat (3/38) was the best performer as he took 3 wickets. Making an international debut in this T20I tri-series opener, all-rounder Vijay Shankar (2/32) picked up 2 wickets through his right-arm medium bowling. After dismissing Mushfiqur Rahim by caught behind the wicket, Vijay opened his wicket account in the international cricket.

Also, Shardul Thakur (1/25) and Yuzvendra Chahal (1/19) claimed a wicket each.

Also read: Mid innings of this match 

In reply, India comfortably chased down the low target. While Rohit Sharma (17) and Rishabh Pant (7) lost their wickets cheaply, Shikhar Dhawan and Suresh Raina put an important third wicket partnership for 68-runs which settled the match for India. After that, Raina was dismissed for 28 runs.

On the other hand, Indian opener Shikhar Dhawan scored another half-century as this time he scored 55 runs before losing his wicket. He hit total 5 fours and 2 sixes during his knock.

Also read: Shikhar Dhawan dominates once again

Manish Pandey did the remaining job as he was not out on 27 runs off 19 balls. India reached the target in 18.4 overs after losing 4 wickets.

Among the Bangladeshi bowlers, Rubel Hossain (2/24) clinched two wickets while Mustafizur Rahman (1/31) and Taskin Ahmed (1/28) picked up a piece of wicket each.

Vijay Shankar was awarded the Player of the Match.

Here are some Twitter reactions of the match 


Special praising on Shikhar Dhawan’s knock