Umesh Yadav Smashes A Couple of 100m Sixes In Chattogram
By CricShots - Dec 15, 2022 3:20 pm
Views 43

If it was the dependable batters, Shreyas Iyer and Cheteshwar Pujara on Day 1, on the second day, India rode on the back of R Ashwin and Kuldeep Yadav as they helped the visitors to reach the score of 404 in the first Test against Bangladesh in Chattogram. After Ebadot Hossain gave Bangladesh the early breakthrough, castling the overnight set batter Shreyas Iyer, Ashwin and Kuldeep forged a crucial 92-run partnership to ensure India got close to the 400-run mark.

Umesh Yadav
Umesh Yadav

R Ashwin struck a half-century and Kuldeep registered his highest score in Test cricket. Still, just when the partnership began to appear unbreakable, Mehidy Hasan and Taijul Islam managed to help the host to get back in the game. With India now at 393/9, 400 looked a little dicey, but Umesh Yadav came out all guns blazing and helped India to breach the 400-run mark. 

WATCH – Rishabh Pant Witnessed An Unfortunate Way Of Getting Dismissed

Umesh Yadav, facing just his second ball, gave it his all and slogged Mehidy for a humongous six, the distance on which was a staggering 101 meters. This was right after R Ashwin had been dismissed and India only had the last two wickets left. However, once Kuldeep was out plumb LBW, Umesh did not hold back and struck another huge six of Mehidy, clearing another 100 meters.

Here is the video of the sixes from Umesh Yadav:

Mohammed Siraj followed the same pattern as Umesh and got off the mark with a boundary off his first ball. With the last batting pair, Siraj and Umesh kept on slogging the ball, before India was bowled out for 404 with Umesh remaining unbeaten on 15 having faced 10 balls. Three years ago, in October of 2019, Umesh had played another similar knock blasting 31 off 10 balls against South Africa. 

WATCH – Virat Kohli Reminisces Days When He Used To Have Chinese Food

Bangladesh (Playing XI): Zakir Hasan, Najmul Hossain Shanto, Litton Das, Shakib Al Hasan (c), Mushfiqur Rahim, Yasir Ali, Nurul Hasan (wk), Mehidy Hasan Miraz, Taijul Islam, Khaled Ahmed, Ebadot Hossain

India (Playing XI): Shubman Gill, KL Rahul (c), Cheteshwar Pujara, Virat Kohli, Shreyas Iyer, Rishabh Pant (wk), Axar Patel, Ravichandran Ashwin, Kuldeep Yadav, Umesh Yadav, Mohammed Siraj