Umran Malik, Mukesh Chowdhary To Travel To Australia For T20 WC
By CricShots - Oct 4, 2022 6:45 pm
Views 55

Team India along with the support staff will be traveling to Australia on October 6 for the upcoming event, T20 World Cup 2022. Along with the main squad and standbys, the Indian contingent will be visiting down under for the much-awaited tournament with four backup options as net bowlers.

umran malik
Umran Malik

According to the latest reports of Sportstar, Mukesh Choudhary and Chetan Sakariya, a left-arm pace combination, have been added to the squad of bowlers, which also includes Umran Malik and Kuldeep Sen. Mukesh Choudhary, who wowed everyone with his powerplay bowling for Chennai Super Kings (CSK) in the IPL 2022, is presently practicing in Pune, while the other three are competing in the Irani Cup.

ALSO READ: Adam Gilchrist Opines Hardik Pandya Will Be The Standout Player In T20 World Cup

Notably, the premier pacer, Jasprit Bumrah suffered a back injury ahead of the opening game of the three-match T20I series against South Africa in Thiruvananthapuram and was ruled out of the series opener.

Jasprit Bumrah was later ruled out of the South Africa series when a back stress fracture was discovered. However, no more details regarding his injury have been revealed, and Mohammed Siraj has been appointed as his replacement for the T20I series against South Africa.

Mukesh Choudhary
Mukesh Choudhary 

Standby players, pacer, Mohammed Siraj and batter Shreyas Iyer will be joining the squad in Brisbane for their two warm-up matches on October 17 and 19.

ALSO READ: Sunil Gavaskar Feels No One Can Replace Jasprit Bumrah In The Indian Squad

Currently, India is playing against South Africa in a three-match T20I series. The Rohit Sharma-led team has already bagged the series with one match to go. The final T20I will be played at Holkar Cricket Stadium, Indore.

India’s T20 World Cup Squad:

Rohit Sharma (C), KL Rahul (VC), Virat Kohli, Suryakumar Yadav, Deepak Hooda, Rishabh Pant (wk), Dinesh Karthik (wk), Hardik Pandya, Ravichandran Ashwin, Yuzvendra Chahal, Axar Patel, Jasprit Bumrah, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Harshal Patel, Arshdeep Singh

Standby players: Mohammed Shami, Shreyas Iyer, Ravi Bishnoi, and Deepak Chahar