Varun Chakravarthy takes a jibe at Ajit Agarkar-led selection panel after being ignored for Zimbabwe series
By SMCS - Jun 24, 2024 9:00 pm
Views 36

Varun Chakravarthy has taken a jibe at the selectors after being ignored for the upcoming T20I series between India and Zimbabwe as well. He shared the story after the Ajit Agarkar-led selection panel announced the squad for the five-match series on Monday (June 24) as well. However, Team India are scheduled to play five T20Is against Zimbabwe next month which will take place right after the conclusion of the ongoing ICC T20 World Cup 2024.

Varun Chakravarthy
Varun Chakravarthy

However, the selectors have named a second-string team and only two players from the World Cup squad have been named in the squad for the Zimbabwe series as well. Yashasvi Jaiswal and Sanju Samson, who are in the World Cup squad, have been named in the squad for the upcoming series as well. They have not played a single match in the World Cup so far and are unlikely to play in the remaining games as well.

Shubman Gill has been appointed as the captain for the upcoming series where as many as five uncapped players have been added – Abhishek Sharma, Nitish Reddy, Riyan Parag, Dhruv Jurel, and Tushar Deshpande. The other players in the squad are the usual players such as Ruturaj Gaikwad, Rinku Singh, Ravi Bishnoi, and Avesh Khan.

Varun Chakravarthy
Varun Chakravarthy

However, Varun Chakravarthy who had sublime form in the IPL 2024, and was waiting for a recall in the Indian team, could not find a place in the World Cup squad as well. Notably, he finished the IPL 2024 as the second-highest wicket-taker where he had picked up 21 wickets in the tournament after Harshal Patel (24).

And, soon after the squad was announced, Varun Chakravarthy shared a cryptic post. He took to Instagram to post a story where he blamed his poor luck on not having a PR agency as well. “I wish I had a paid PR agency,” wrote the spinner.

Squad: Shubman Gill (Captain), Yashasvi Jaiswal, Ruturaj Gaikwad, Abhishek Sharma, Rinku Singh, Sanju Samson (WK), Dhruv Jurel (WK), Nitish Reddy, Riyan Parag, Washington Sundar, Ravi Bishnoi, Avesh Khan, Khaleel Ahmed, Mukesh Kumar, Tushar Deshpande