Venues Finalized For the England Women’s Tour To India
By CricShots - Feb 23, 2018 1:23 pm
Views 0

The India Women’s team will be hosting England for a three-match One-Day International series in April this year. The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) had announced the schedule for the same back in December 2017 but were yet to finalize on the venues for the matches.

India women’s team played against England last year in the World Cup final

The series that was not a part of the International Cricket Council (ICC) Women’s Championship will be played from April 8-14. India Women’s team will host the first match on April 8, the second ODI will be played on April 11 and the final match of the series will be played on April 14.

Also read: CSA Didn’t Telecasted India Women’s ODI Against South Africa

BCCI has taken some time to finalize the venues for the series and finally took a decision and awarded it to the Vidarbha Cricket Association (VCA) Stadium in Nagpur. The Indian women’s team has a lot of cricket to play this summer as they will be hosting Australia for a three-match ODI series starting March 12 at the Reliance Stadium in Baroda.

It will be immediately followed by the Twenty20 International tri-nation series that involve India Women, Australia, and England. All the matches of that series will be played at the Cricket Club of India, Brabourne Stadium in Mumbai from 22nd March 22 to 3rd April.

Indian Women’s cricket team

The Indian Women spent almost six months without any action after their return as runners-up of the Women’s World Cup 2017. They resumed cricket with the ongoing tour of South Africa where the Women in Blue won the ODI series 2-1 and are leading the T20I series by the same margin with a game to be played in the five-match series.

Also read: Mithali Raj wants India women to make direct entry in World Cup 2021

India team under the leadership of Harmanpreet Kaur has won the first couple of T20s and looked good to seal the series in Centurion but the hosts made a comeback and managed to keep their hopes for a tie alive. The series decider will be played at the Newlands in Cape Town on February 24 ahead of the 3rd T20I between the men’s teams from the same countries.