Virat Kohli Clinches ICC ODI Cricketer Of The Year 2023 Award
By CricShots - Jan 25, 2024 6:55 pm
Views 15

Virat Kohli emerged as the ICC Men’s ODI Cricketer of the Year 2023, capping off a phenomenal season highlighted by his standout performance at the ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup 2023. Kohli’s remarkable form throughout the year, especially during the World Cup, played a pivotal role in India’s journey to the final.

Virat Kohli
Virat Kohli

In an extraordinary display of batting prowess, Kohli consistently delivered with the bat, notching up a record-breaking 765 runs in the World Cup. His exceptional run included nine half-centuries out of 11 innings, setting a new milestone as the highest individual run-scorer in a men’s Cricket World Cup, surpassing Sachin Tendulkar’s previous record.

ALSO READ: Sarfaraz Khan Shines with a Century in India A’s Dominant Display Against England Lions

With an average of 95.62 and a strike rate of 90.31, Kohli’s performance was nothing short of sensational. His three centuries, including a crucial knock in the semi-final against New Zealand, propelled him to the top of the list of century-makers in ODI history, with a record tally of 50 centuries.


Despite his heroics, the disappointment of falling short in the final was palpable, underscoring Kohli’s immense importance to India’s quest for the title. Nevertheless, his overall contributions throughout the year were exemplary, amassing a total of 1377 runs at an impressive average of 72.47, including six centuries and eight half-centuries in 24 innings.

Meanwhile, Australian skipper Pat Cummins clinched the prestigious Sir Garfield Sobers Trophy for the ICC Men’s Cricketer of the Year 2023. Cummins’ exceptional all-round performance, coupled with remarkable team achievements such as victory in the ICC World Test Championship Final and the ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup 2023, earned him this esteemed recognition.

WATCH – Jasprit Bumrah Cleans Up Ben Stokes With Reverse Swing Masterclass

Cummins’ outstanding form with both bat and ball, along with Australia’s success in major tournaments, distinguished him as the standout performer among his peers. Despite stiff competition from fellow contenders, including Virat Kohli and Ravindra Jadeja, Cummins’ exceptional contributions rightfully earned him the coveted title.