IPL 2024
Virat Kohli Engages In Heated Exchange With Umpire Over LBW Decision
By CricShots - May 12, 2024 10:20 pm
Views 12

In the 61st battle between Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) and Delhi Capitals (DC), a contentious moment arose when former captain Virat Kohli engaged in a heated discussion with the on-field umpire over an LBW decision that favoured the visiting team in the second inning of the game.

Virat Kohli
Virat Kohli engaged in a discussion with the umpire

The incident unfolded during the second over of Delhi Capitals’ innings, immediately after the dismissal of opener David Warner off Swapnil Singh’s delivery. Mohammed Siraj, delivering his first ball of the day, bowled a stunning yorker that appeared to hit Abhishek Porel on the toes, prompting a fervent appeal from the RCB players. However, the on-field umpire ruled the batsman not out.

WATCH – MS Dhoni and Suresh Raina Reunite In Heartwarming Celebration

Despite the close call, Royal Challengers Bangalore opted to review the decision, challenging the umpire’s call. After reviewing multiple camera angles, the TV umpire upheld the on-field decision, much to the disappointment of Kohli and Faf du Plessis, who sought clarification from the umpire in the heat of the moment.

Here is the video of the incident:


However, Abhishek Porel failed to capitalize on the reprieve, losing his wicket to Yash Dayal in the subsequent over. As of the latest update, with the Capitals chasing a target of 188, they were struggling at 71 for four in eight overs, having lost key wickets including Abhishek Porel, David Warner, Kumar Kushagra, and Jake Fraser-McGurk.

WATCH – Delhi Capitals’ Fielding Woes: Dropped Catches Costly Against RCB

Royal Challengers Bengaluru (Playing XI): Faf du Plessis(c), Virat Kohli, Will Jacks, Rajat Patidar, Cameron Green, Mahipal Lomror, Dinesh Karthik(w), Karn Sharma, Mohammed Siraj, Lockie Ferguson, Yash Dayal

Delhi Capitals (Playing XI): Jake Fraser-McGurk, Abishek Porel(w), Shai Hope, Kumar Kushagra, Tristan Stubbs, Axar Patel(c), Kuldeep Yadav, Rasikh Dar Salam, Mukesh Kumar, Ishant Sharma, Khaleel Ahmed