Virat Kohli, Hardik, SKY Feature In The ICC Team Of 2022 For T20Is
By CricShots - Jan 23, 2023 5:38 pm
Views 25

On Monday, the ICC announced the T20I team of 2022 with India’s Virat Kohli, Suryakumar Yadav, and Hardik Pandya featuring eleven. Jos Buttler, who led England to the T20 World Cup last year in Australia, was chosen to lead the elite XI that performed exceptionally well in 2022. India has the most representation in the team with three cricketers, followed by England and Pakistan with two each.

Virat Kohli
Suryakumar Yadav and Virat Kohli made another

New Zealand, Ireland, Zimbabwe, and Sri Lanka have one cricketer each to round off the impressive list. The ICC commented on Kohli’s inclusion in the list and said that 2022 showed glimpses of the past years.

In a statement confirming the same, ICC said, “2022 was the year Virat Kohli once again showed glimpses of Virat Kohli of old. He took the Asia Cup by storm, finishing as the second-highest run-getter with 276 runs in five games. He also brought an end to his century drought of close to three years with a magnificent century against Afghanistan.”

ALSO READ: Sanjay Bangar Opines India Exploited The Conditions Well In Raipur

They further added, “The form carried over to the T20 World Cup, where Kohli played one of the greatest T20I innings in the heist against Pakistan in Melbourne. The 82* set the tone for the rest of the tournament, where he scored three more fifties and finished as the highest run-scorer with 296 runs.”

Suryakumar Yadav was included in the list after his fantastic form in 2022 in T20Is, where he ended the year as the highest run-scorer in the format with a tally of 1164 runs and also claimed the No.1 spot in the ICC T20I rankings.

Describing SKY’s inclusion, ICC said, “Suryakumar Yadav had a sensational 2022 in T20Is, becoming just the second batter to score more than 1000 runs in a calendar year in the format. He ended the year as the highest run-getter, scoring 1164, including two hundreds and nine half-centuries while striking at a stunning 187.43.”

ALSO READ: Kapil Dev Is Confident That India Can Field Different Teams In All 3 Formats

They further added, “SKY displayed his majestic prowess at the T20 World Cup as well, scoring 239 runs while going at a strike rate of 189.68. He finished the year as the No.1 batter in the MRF Tyres ICC Men’s T20I Player Rankings.”

ICC T20I team of 2022:

Jos Buttler (c, wk) (England), Mohammad Rizwan (Pakistan), Virat Kohli (India), Suryakumar Yadav (India), Glenn Phillips (New Zealand), Sikandar Raza (Zimbabwe), Hardik Pandya (India), Sam Curran (England), Wanindu Hasaranga (Sri Lanka), Haris Rauf (Pakistan), Josh Little (Ireland).