Virat Kohli Rolls Football To Tendulkar and Beckham, Adding Glamour To World Cup Semi-Final
By CricShots - Nov 15, 2023 5:06 pm
Views 129

In a rare display of camaraderie between two sporting legends, Indian cricket captain Virat Kohli was spotted rolling a football towards Sachin Tendulkar and David Beckham, adding an extra layer of glamour to the already electrifying atmosphere at the ICC Cricket World Cup 2023 semi-final between India and New Zealand.

Virat Kohli
Virat Kohli, David Beckham, and Sachin Tendulkar

The iconic figures from cricket and football, both UNICEF brand ambassadors, were present at the Wankhede Stadium in Mumbai to watch the high-stakes match. Kohli, known for his energetic and passionate approach to the game, couldn’t resist engaging in a playful exchange with the legendary duo.

ALSO READ: Shubman Gill Retires Hurt Due To Cramps, Can Resume Innings

In a video shared on Beckham’s Instagram story, Kohli is seen rolling a football towards Beckham, who skillfully controls it and kicks it back. Tendulkar, standing nearby, watches the exchange with amusement. The lighthearted interaction drew cheers from the enthusiastic crowd, adding a touch of levity to the intense match.


David Beckham, who is in India as UNICEF’s goodwill ambassador, had earlier met with Kohli and other members of the Indian cricket team. During the interaction, Beckham shared words of wisdom and encouragement with the players, offering his support ahead of their crucial encounter with New Zealand.


India, eager to avenge their defeat in the 2019 World Cup semi-finals against New Zealand, entered the match with an unchanged lineup. Skipper Rohit Sharma, speaking at the toss, acknowledged New Zealand’s consistent performance and expressed the team’s determination to secure a place in the final.

New Zealand Playing XI: Devon Conway, Rachin Ravindra, Kane Williamson (c), Daryl Mitchell, Tom Latham (wk), Mark Chapman, Glenn Phillips, Mitchell Santner, Lockie Ferguson, Tim Southee, Trent Boult.

India Playing XI: Rohit Sharma (c), Shubman Gill, Virat Kohli, Shreyas Iyer, Lokesh Rahul (wk), Suryakumar Yadav, Ravindra Jadeja, Jasprit Bumrah, Mohammed Shami, Kuldeep Yadav, Mohammed Siraj.