Washington Sundar To Miss The T20 Series Against West Indies
By CricShots - Feb 14, 2022 8:59 pm
Views 8.5K

The young Indian all-rounder, Washington Sundar will not be taking part in the upcoming T20I series at home against West Indies. He recently made his international comeback during the ODI series against the Windies after a long injury-forced break and now, according to the latest reports of Cricbuzz, a Tamil Nadu Cricket Association (TNCA) official confirmed that he has suffered a Grade 1 hamstring injury and he will have to report at the NCA on Tuesday (February 15).

washington sundar
Washington Sundar

Washington Sundar will be expected to spend around the next three weeks at the NCA. The three Twenty20 Internationals against West Indies will start in Kolkata on February 16. Sundar left the Indian camp that is currently in Kolkata. Team Indi has had a net session at Eden Gardens in Kolkata on Monday (February 14) evening. Kuldeep Yadav will be replacing Sundar in the Indian T20I squad.

ALSO READ: Sanjay Manjrekar Feels MI Made Compromises To Get Kishan And Archer

Washington Sundar is the third player to be out of the Twenty20 series against West Indies after deputy skipper, KL Rahul getting ruled out along with Axar Patel. Talking about them, BCCI informed, while Rahul sustained an upper left hamstring strain during fielding in the 2nd ODI (vs West Indies) on February 9, Axar is rehabilitating after recently recovering from Covid-19.

Informing about the injured players, BCCI has said, “They will now head to the National Cricket Academy in Bengaluru for further management of their injury. The All-India Senior Selection Committee has named Ruturaj Gaikwad and Deepak Hooda as replacements.”

It further added, “All-rounder Washington Sundar suffered a left hamstring muscle strain during fielding in the third ODI against the West Indies played at the Narendra Modi Stadium on Friday. He is ruled out of the upcoming three-match Paytm T20I Series to be played in Kolkata from 16th February. The All-India Senior Selection Committee has named Kuldeep Yadav as Washington’s replacement.”

BCCI’s latest report also confirmed that Rishabh Pant will be performing the role of Rohit Sharma;s deputy in the T20I series against the West Indies.

ALSO READ: CSK Reveals The Reason Behind Not Going For Suresh Raina In The Auction

India’s T20I squad: Rohit Sharma (Captain), Ishan Kishan, Virat Kohli, Shreyas Iyer, Surya Kumar Yadav, Rishabh Pant (vice-captain) (wicket-keeper), Venkatesh Iyer, Deepak Chahar, Shardul Thakur, Ravi Bishnoi, Yuzvendra Chahal, Mohd. Siraj, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Avesh Khan, Harshal Patel, Ruturaj Gaikwad, Deepak Hooda, Kuldeep Yadav