Wasim Akram Opines That Bhuvneshwar Kumar Will Struggle In Australia
By CricShots - Oct 13, 2022 10:48 am
Views 17

Former Pakistan skipper, Wasim Akram opined that the veteran India fast bowler, Bhuvneshwar Kumar will be struggling in Australia. India is already missing their premier pacer – Jasprit Bumrah and now Akram has cast doubt over the credentials of Kumar in the Australian conditions, where India is set to play the T20 World Cup in a couple of weeks’ time. During a recent chat with Khaleej Times, Akram said that despite the skills, Bhuvneshwar Kumar might struggle due to the lack of pace.

Bhuvneshwar Kumar
Bhuvneshwar Kumar failed to restrict the run-flow

Wasim Akram elaborated, “India have Bhuvneshwar Kumar, he is good with the new ball, but with that pace, if the ball is not swinging, he will probably struggle there. But he is a very good bowler no doubt, swings both ways, has the yorker. But you need pace in Australia. It’s in Australia. The Australians will probably play well, they have a good bowling attack, they know those pitches.”

ALSO READ: Ravi Shastri Reckons India Needs To Work Hard On Their Ground Fielding

The Indian team management is yet to name a replacement for Jasprit Bumrah as of now, but it is expected that one among Mohammed Shami or Mohammed Siraj will be taking up his position.

Talking about the same, Wasim Akram said, “India have a good batting line-up. But they still haven’t named Bumrah’s replacement.”

Wasim Akram
Wasim Akram

India will be commencing their T20 World Cup campaign against Pakistan on 23 October. Under the captaincy of Rohit Sharma, Team India will be hoping to shake off their 2021 T20 World Cup and Asia Cup 2022 debacle in a country where they have traditionally fared well. India comes into the T20 World Cup with a strong performance in the bilaterals, however, there are doubts over their approach in the big matches of the ICC tournaments.

ALSO READ: Marco Jansen Replaces Dwaine Pretorius In The T20 World Cup Squad

Indian squad: Rohit Sharma (c), KL Rahul, Virat Kohli, Suryakumar Yadav, Deepak Hooda, Rishabh Pant, Dinesh Karthik, Hardik Pandya, R Ashwin, Yuzvendra Chahal, Axar Patel, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Harshal Patel, Arshdeep Singh.

Standby Players: Mohammad Shami, Shreyas Iyer, Ravi Bishnoi.