Wasim Jaffer Predicts India’s Playing XI For 1st T20I Against Australia
By CricShots - Sep 19, 2022 7:51 pm
Views 72

Former Indian batter, Wasim Jaffer has predicted a playing XI for India’s upcoming first T20I of the three-match series against Australia. The Men in Blue will face the visiting team in a three-match T20I series slated to start on September 20 (Tuesday) in Mohali. Jaffer went with KL Rahul and skipper Rohit Sharma to open the innings with Virat Kohli coming at the number three position.

Team India
Team India

Interestingly, Wasim Jaffer decided to pick Dinesh Karthik in his team as a wicket-keeper batter instead of Rishabh Pant. As per Jaffer’s playing XI, Suryakumar Yadav is expected to bat at the number four position, while star all-rounder Hardik Pandya is slated next. In the pace department, Jaffer decided to pick just a couple of frontline fast bowlers including Bhuvneshwar Kumar and Jasprit Bumrah.

ALSO READ: KL Rahul Addresses The Criticism Over His Batting Approach In T20s

Meanwhile, the visitors will be without their star opener David Warner which might hamper Australia’s chances in the series. The selection committee has named Tim David to the squad and the right-handed batter is expected to make his debut in the first T20I encounter.

Meanwhile, Australia’s express fast bowler, Pat Cummins has said Virat Kohli will pose them a challenge in the upcoming T20I fixture. To note, the right-handed batter retained his form in the recently concluded 2022 Asia Cup as he scored his 71st international century.

Pat Cummins had said, “To be totally honest, I didn’t see any of that tournament (Asia Cup). I think Sri Lanka won. Honestly, I didn’t see any of it. I saw Virat Kohli, I think he scored a hundred, yeah he’s a class player, he was always going to return to form at some point in time. He’s going to be a challenge this next week.”

ALSO READ: Sunil Gavaskar In Favor Of Playing Both Rishabh Pant and Dinesh Karthik

Wasim Jaffer’s playing XI against Australia for the first T20I: KL Rahul, Rohit Sharma, Virat Kohli, Suryakumar Yadav, Hardik Pandya, Dinesh Karthik (wk), Axar Patel, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Jasprit Bumrah, Yuzvendra Chahal.