Watch: Déjà vu In Ranchi As Deepak Chahar Dismisses Martin Guptill After Conceding Six
By Aditya Pratap - Nov 19, 2021 7:40 pm
Views 235

India and New Zealand are up against each other in the second T20I in Ranchi’s Jharkhand State Cricket Academy International Stadium. India won the first T20I in Jaipur by five wickets and are leading the three-match T20I series by 1-0.

Martin Guptill

Rohit Sharma won the toss and elected to bowl first. India made a forced change as Mohammed Siraj injured his finger and was replaced by Harshal Patel, who is making his international debut. On the other hand, New Zealand made three changes as they left out Lockie Ferguson, Rachin Ravindra and Todd Astle for Adam Milne, James Neesham and Ish Sodhi.

Also Read: Martin Guptill goes six and out, Deepak Chahar takes perfect revenge, watch here

Martin Guptill and Daryl Mitchell walked out to open the innings. Guptill smashed Bhuvneshwar Kumar for successive fours on the first two balls of the match. He was looking in ominous touch and was hitting boundaries for fun.

Deepak Chahar came to bowl the fifth over of the innings and Guptill welcomed him with a huge six over long-on. And just like it happened in Jaipur, Deepak Chahar took his revenge straightaway by dismissing Guptill on the next ball.

Watch the video here;

Guptill scored 31 runs in just 15 balls where he hit three fours and two sixes. New Zealand scored 56 runs in the first five overs while they finished the powerplay at 64/1.

Also Read: I don’t remember Ravichandran Ashwin bowling any bad ball in my career, admits Martin Guptill

New Zealand (Playing XI): Martin Guptill, Daryl Mitchell, Mark Chapman, Glenn Phillips, Tim Seifert(w), James Neesham, Mitchell Santner, Ish Sodhi, Tim Southee(c), Adam Milne, Trent Boult.

India (Playing XI): KL Rahul, Rohit Sharma(c), Suryakumar Yadav, Rishabh Pant(w), Shreyas Iyer, Venkatesh Iyer, Axar Patel, Ravichandran Ashwin, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Deepak Chahar, Harshal Patel.