IPL 2024
WATCH: Jitesh Sharma fails to stop the boundary vs Gujarat Titans; Shikhar Dhawan reacts
By SMCS - Apr 4, 2024 9:35 pm
Views 37

The 17th match of IPL 2024 is currently going on between Gujarat Titans vs Punjab Kings at the Narendra Modi Stadium in Ahmedabad on Thursday, April 4. Punjab Kings won the toss and opted to field first. While Gujarat Titans have had a flying start, a comical incident took place with Jitesh Sharma during the match as well.

Jitesh Sharma
Jitesh Sharma

The incident happened in the very second over when Arshdeep Singh was bowling to Wriddhiman Saha. On the second ball of the over, Arshdeep bowled one delivery on the pads and the ball deflected off the thigh pad before going past Jitesh Sharma. The wicketkeeper decided to chase the ball and stop it. However, he tried his best but eventually lost his balance and fell on the field. While the ball went for a boundary, he became a part of a hilarious incident as well which even his captain Shikhar Dhawan too didn’t expect and reacted.

Watch the incident involving Jitesh Sharma:

However, PBKS captain Shikhar Dhawan won the toss and opted to bowl first. They have lost back-to-back games and they are in desperate need of a win after losing their last two matches as well. They began their season with a fine win over Delhi Capitals before facing defeats against Royal Challengers Bengaluru and Lucknow Super Giants as well.

Shikhar Dhawan, PBKS captain said at the toss, quoted by Cricbuzz: “We are gonna bowl first, I feel it’s a good wicket and it will stay the same, we will prefer chasing. In some of the games, the score has been very high but it’s not going to be that way every game because the teams are very good. I think we are playing decent cricket, it’s early days in the tournament, we are going to play better. Livi goes out and Sikandar Raza comes into the side.”

Punjab Kings (Playing XI): Shikhar Dhawan(c), Jonny Bairstow, Jitesh Sharma(w), Prabhsimran Singh, Sam Curran, Shashank Singh, Sikandar Raza, Harpreet Brar, Harshal Patel, Kagiso Rabada, Arshdeep Singh

Punjab Kings Subs: Tanay Thyagarajan, Nathan Ellis, Asutosh Sharma, Rahul Chahar, Vidwath Kaverappa