News
WATCH – Jofra Archer Escapes Ban Despite Bowling Two Beamers
By CricShots - Dec 28, 2019 12:13 pm
Views 19.4K
Share Post

England pacer, Jofra Archer was no-balled and warned for a high no-ball but appeared to escape sanction for a second beamer in a controversial end to Day 2 of the first Test on Friday. South African skipper, Faf du Plessis, and coach Mark Boucher have reported having approached match referee Andy Pycroft after the close of play but there was no immediate statement on what transpired.

apology
Jofra Archer

Talking about the same, a South African team spokesperson, “The match referee has deferred the situation for comment to the International Cricket Council communications department. We have been asked to leave it to them. There was a little bit of conversation going on after the game. The umpires have to deal with it. Hopefully, they will make the right call.”

Although Philander said it was a matter for the umpires he offered his own opinion.

ALSO READ: Twitterati Erupts As Pat Cummins Takes Another 5-fer

The veteran pacer said, “For me, it’s plain and simple. You have to make the right call. Are you going to tolerate it at another game or are we going to put a stop to it right here?”

Here is the video of the beamers:

Square leg umpire Chris Gaffaney signaled no-ball when an attempted slower ball by the England fast bowler went past nightwatchman Anrich Nortje in the penultimate over of a dramatic day during which 15 wickets fell. The next delivery also was high and full, which had Nortje feel on the ground while attempting to avoid being hit, Archer again tried to bowl his slower “knuckle” ball.

ALSO READ: PCB comments on Shoaib Akhtar and Danish Kaneria matter

Umpire Gaffaney appeared to start signaling another no-ball, which could have resulted in Archer not being allowed to bowl again according to International Cricket Council regulations. But he seemed to check his signal. The umpires spoke to Archer and the over was called.

England batsman Joe Denly, who was fielding at leg slip, said he was surprised that Archer had attempted two successive slower balls but said he felt the second one had “just missed the stumps”.

Here is how Twitter reacted to the incident: