Brisbane Heat players, Matt Renshaw and Tom Banton went on to take an unthinkable catch at the Gabba. During the 29th match of the ongoing ninth season of the Big Bash League (BBL) between Brisbane Heat and Hobart Hurricanes in Brisbane, Renshaw and Banton joined hands to grab a phenomenal catch to dismiss Hobart Hurricanes skipper, Matthew Wade.
It all happened on the fifth delivery of the 15th over when Wade’s attempt to up increase the impetus saw him skying a delivery from Heat all-rounder Ben Cutting. With the ball going towards Renshaw at long-on, he grabbed the ball but had to toss the ball in the air to maintain his balance while running back into the boundary.
In an attempt to make sure that he prevented a six, Renshaw jumped in the air whilst inside the boundary and tapped the ball towards Banton who had run to his right from deep mid-wicket. While Banton completed the catch, it was only after numerous replays that Wade was declared out by the third umpire. It is worth mentioning that such a catch would have been deemed as not-out in the past for a fielder’s last point of contact had to be inside the playing area.
Here is the video of Renshaw and Banton’s unthinkable catch:
This is genuinely blowing our mind. After all that, Matthew Wade is GONE!
— KFC Big Bash League (@BBL) January 9, 2020
It was a recent change in the rule which worked well for Renshaw and allowed him to tap the ball from outside the playing area.
After Wade won the toss and chose to bat, the visiting team only managed to reach a meager score of 126/9 in 20 overs on the back of their captain’s 14th T20 half-century. Playing his first match of the tournament, Wade scored 61 (46) with the help of three fours and two sixes. With bowling figures of 4-0-21-3, Brisbane pacer Josh Lalor was the pick of their bowlers.
How Twitterati reacted:
First contact with the ball inside the boundary ✅
Airborne while taking the catch ✅
— ESPNcricinfo (@ESPNcricinfo) January 9, 2020
CAN YOU JUST BELIEVE THIS CATCH? 😲
The ball went over the ropes, but Matt Renshaw, somehow, manages to pull it back for Tom Banton 🙌
— Cricingif (@_cricingif) January 9, 2020
There's a lot of Somerset County Cricket Club in this clip! 👊
🏏 Wade (61 from 46)
🙌 Renshaw 🔥🔥
🙌 Banton 👍
— Somerset Cricket 🏏 (@SomersetCCC) January 9, 2020
Yep that’s what the rule always was, and it’s obviously the correct way.
Unfortunately people are stupid. https://t.co/v52g5B6P4x
— Jimmy Neesham (@JimmyNeesh) January 9, 2020