Mahendra Singh Dhoni is no longer the captain of The Indian team, however, the Indian keeper still seems to be the main man when it comes to taking big game decisions. The most recent incident that happened during the ICC Champions Trophy match between India and South Africa just proves that.
The incident occurred in the 41st over of the South African innings when Jasprit Bumrah bowled a low full toss which hit South African bastman Andile Phehlukwayo right in his back legs and as the ball was straight it looked quite close. the Indian fielders appealed only to see the umpire give it as Not-out. The decision did shock most of the Indian fielders including Dhoni was seen thinking with his gloves on his face. The timing of the decision was crucial as it would lead to a South African collapse as South Africa were struggling at 178 at the loss of 6 wickets. The Indian captain Virat Kohli went straight to Dhoni to ask for his opinion and decided the take the review. The replays showed ball missing the bat and hitting the stumps leading to umpire overturning his decision.
Watch the Video here :-