World Cup 2023 Final Halted As Protestor Enters Field, Approaches Virat Kohli
By CricShots - Nov 19, 2023 4:01 pm
Views 97

The high-stakes Cricket World Cup final between India and Australia witnessed an unexpected interruption when a pitch invader disrupted the game’s flow in the 14th over. The intruder, wearing a t-shirt with the message “Stop bombing Palestine,” managed to reach close to Virat Kohli before being escorted off the field by security personnel.

Virat Kohli
Protestor reached close to Virat Kohli

With the match briefly halted, the incident added to the pressure already mounting on Team India. Chasing Australia’s imposing total of 359, India found themselves in a precarious situation at 101 for 3 in 16 overs. Opener Shubman Gill failed to capitalize on the grand stage, falling for just 4 off Mitchell Starc’s bowling.

WATCH – Travis Head Takes Sensational Catch To Dismiss Rohit Sharma In World Cup Final

India’s captain, Rohit Sharma, continued his aggressive approach, striking 4 fours and 3 sixes to reach 47 off a mere 30 balls. His knock, however, was cut short by a spectacular catch from Travis Head, sending India’s hopes of a comeback dwindling. Shreyas Iyer, who had been in excellent form, also failed to find his rhythm, falling for 4 after edging a delivery to the wicketkeeper.

The onus now falls on KL Rahul and Virat Kohli to replicate their earlier heroics when India faced Australia in the league stage. Recalling their 165-run partnership that helped chase down 200 runs, India will desperately need a similar rescue act from the duo to stay in contention for the title.

ALSO READ: Nasser Hussain opines on Australia players’ mindset ahead of 2023 World Cup final

As the match progresses, the tension is palpable, and the outcome remains uncertain. The pitch invader’s interruption, though disruptive, has only added to the drama of this high-stakes clash.


India (Playing XI): Rohit Sharma (c), Shubman Gill, Virat Kohli, Shreyas Iyer, KL Rahul (wk), Suryakumar Yadav, Ravindra Jadeja, Mohammed Shami, Jasprit Bumrah, Kuldeep Yadav, Mohammed Siraj

Australia (Playing XI): Travis Head, David Warner, Mitchell Marsh, Steven Smith, Marnus Labuschagne, Glenn Maxwell, Josh Inglis (wk), Mitchell Starc, Pat Cummins (c), Adam Zampa, Josh Hazlewood