Mumbai Indians’ match with the UP Warrioz witnessed a few of controversies after Mumbai Indians player Hayley Matthews was given out by the third umpire in a controversial call. However, it was corrected when the TV umpire realised his mistake and overturned the decision to make the right call as well.
The incident took place during Sophie Ecclestone’s first over when she took a DRS against the on-field umpire’s call. The replays clearly showed that Hayley Matthews struck the ball before it hit her boot as well. However, the third umpire got to see a different part of the replay, which showed the ball hitting the boot first as well.
READ MORE: ‘Could have gone deeper’ – Shubman Gill on his knock
The third umpire overturned the on-field decision and handed UP Warriorz their first wicket of the match. But Hayley Matthews was visibly shocked by the TV umpire’s decision. Thankfully, the third umpire realised his error and overturned the decision as well for one final time after reviewing the original replay as well, to hand the Mumbai Indians a deserved chance.
After all the drama, Hayley Matthews remains not-out after a DRS confusion.
📸: Jio Cinema#CricTracker #WPL2023 #HayleyMatthews pic.twitter.com/TXIVm6HrB5
— CricTracker (@Cricketracker) March 12, 2023
ALSO READ: Viacom18 bags WIPL Media Rights for 5 years
Harmanpreet Kaur, the Mumbai Indians captain said after te win: “Very happy with the performance. The way we are gelling together I think this is the best tournament so far. Thanks to Nat, she played really well. Because of her I got some time to settle in and later play some shots. The way they were batting, we were a bit tense, but I knew one or two wickets could get momentum back into our favour. We were calculating how many overs were left and which bowlers to target, and that’s what cricket is all about. You gotta express yourself and pick your targets. We just need to keep doing the right things.”