Social Shots
Yuvraj Singh and Suresh Raina Reminisce India’s World Cup 2011 Triumph
By CricShots - Apr 2, 2024 4:13 pm
Views 31

On April 2, 2011, Indian cricket history was rewritten as the team clinched the ODI World Cup after 28 years under the captaincy of MS Dhoni. Facing Sri Lanka in the final at Mumbai’s Wankhede Stadium, India successfully chased down a target of 275 runs, etching an unforgettable moment in cricketing annals.

Yuvraj Singh and Suresh Raina

Thirteen years later, former Indian cricketers Yuvraj Singh and Suresh Raina, integral parts of India’s triumphant World Cup campaign, took to X (formerly Twitter) to reminisce about their emotions following the historic victory.


Yuvraj Singh shared an edit, expressing his joy in reliving the emotions of lifting the title. “Reliving this feeling,” tweeted Yuvraj Singh. Meanwhile, Suresh Raina posted a picture of the Indian team hoisting the trophy, reflecting, “Still get goosebumps thinking about that historic moment in 2011 when we lifted the World Cup. Incredible memories with an amazing team!”


In the 2011 World Cup final, Sri Lanka won the toss and chose to bat first. The innings commenced with Upul Tharanga scoring a cautious two runs off 20 deliveries, followed by Tillakaratne Dilshan’s contribution of 33 runs. Skipper Kumar Sangakkara added 48 runs, while Mahela Jayawardene played a stellar unbeaten knock of 103 runs off 88 deliveries, with Nuwan Kulasekara contributing 32 runs.

ALSO READ: Shane Bond Applauds Riyan Parag Compares With Suryakumar Yadav

Sri Lanka posted a competitive total of 274 runs in the first innings. India’s bowling effort saw Yuvraj Singh and Zaheer Khan as the highest wicket-takers with two dismissals each. Harbhajan Singh also secured a wicket.

In pursuit of the target, India faced a shaky start with opener Virender Sehwag departing for a duck. Sachin Tendulkar managed 18 runs, while Virat Kohli contributed 35 runs off 49 deliveries.

ALSO READ: Stuart Broad’s Insights, Mayank Yadav’s Debut Brilliance, And Virat Kohli’s Dominance

The pivotal innings of Gautam Gambhir and MS Dhoni turned the tide in India’s favour. Gambhir’s 97 runs off 122 deliveries and Dhoni’s unbeaten 91 runs steered India to victory by six wickets, culminating in an emotional triumph after nearly three decades.