Fantasy Tips
Zimbabwe vs India 2024 (1st T20I) – Playing XI and Fantasy XI Predictions
By CricShots - Jul 6, 2024 10:43 am
Views 189

The first T20I match between Zimbabwe and India is set to take place at the Harare Sports Club in Harare on July 6th, starting at 4:30 PM IST. This game marks the beginning of India’s tour of Zimbabwe, which will consist of a total of five T20I matches, all hosted at the Harare Sports Club.

India Zimbabwe
India vs Zimbabwe

Leading the Indian side will be Shubman Gill, while Sikandar Raza will captain the Zimbabwean team. Key players for India include Ruturaj Gaikwad, Washington Sundar, and Ravi Bishnoi. For Zimbabwe, significant players to watch are Brian Bennett, Wesley Madhevere, and Blessing Muzarabani.

Historically, these two teams have faced each other in eight T20I matches. India has emerged victorious in six of these encounters, while Zimbabwe has managed to win two. In their last five T20I clashes, India has won three times, and Zimbabwe has won twice.

The last bilateral T20I series between India and Zimbabwe took place in 2016. More recently, the two teams met in the T20 World Cup 2022, where India secured a convincing victory over Zimbabwe by 71 runs.

ALSO READ: James Anderson recalls seeing career advisor in his daughter’s school as retirement looms

With both teams fielding strong lineups, this series promises to deliver exciting cricket action. Fans will be keenly watching to see how the young Indian side performs under Gill’s captaincy and how Zimbabwe, led by the experienced Raza, counters India’s strengths. The series is not just a contest of skills but also an opportunity for both teams to fine-tune their strategies and performances ahead of future international commitments.


Team India
Team India

The Indian squad for the first two T20I games against Zimbabwe features some new faces. The BCCI has announced Harshit Rana, Sai Sudharsan, and Jitesh Sharma as replacements for Sanju Samson, Yashasvi Jaiswal, and Shiva Dube. Unfortunately, Nitish Kumar Reddy, the SRH all-rounder, was ruled out due to an injury after earning his maiden India call-up. Riyan Parag, Tushar Deshpande, and Hardhit also received their first call-ups to the national team.

Abhishek Sharma is expected to make his T20I debut before Yashasvi arrives in the country. Riyan Parag is also likely to earn his India cap. The wicketkeeper’s spot will see competition between Jitesh Sharma and Dhruv Jurel. Ravi Bishnoi will spearhead the spin attack in the series. This T20I series against Zimbabwe marks the beginning of a new era in T20I cricket and sets the stage for the road to the 2026 T20 World Cup, starting in Zimbabwe.

Probable XI: Shubman Gill (c), Abhishek Sharma, Ruturaj Gaikwad, Riyan Parag, Rinku Singh, Dhruv Jurel (wk), Washington Sundar, Ravi Bishnoi, Avesh Khan, Khaleel Ahmed, Mukesh Kumar.



Sikandar Raza will lead the team. Despite his efforts, Zimbabwe failed to qualify for the T20 World Cup. The 17-man squad includes Tendai Chatara, Brandon Mavuta, and Wessly Madhevere, but there is no place for Ryan Burl, Joylord Gumbie, and Ainsley Ndlovu. Veteran players Craig Ervine and Sean Williams are also absent from this squad.

This Zimbabwean team features many new faces with limited international experience. Sikandar Raza will rely on key players like Blessing Musarabani and Richard Ngarava to challenge the Indian team. The series will be a test for the new-look Zimbabwe squad as they face off against a strong Indian side. In this context, we can expect an intriguing first T20I as Zimbabwe seeks to establish a competitive playing XI against India.

Probable XI: Brian Bennett, Tadiwanashe Marumani, Sikandar Raza (c), Johnathan Campbell, Antum Naqvi, Clive Madande (wk), Wessly Madhevere, Luke Jongwe, Faraz Akram, Wellington Masakadza, Blessing Muzarabani.

Fantasy XI Suggestion 1: 

Clive Madande, Shubman Gill (c), Wesley Madhevere, Ruturaj Gaikwad, Sikandar Raza, Abhishek Sharma, Brian Bennet, Ravi Bishnoi (vc), Blessing Muzarabani, Avesh Khan, Mukesh Kumar

Fantasy XI Suggestion 2:

Clive Madande, Shubman Gill, Wesley Madhevere, Ruturaj Gaikwad, Riyan Parag, Sikandar Raza (c), Abhishek Sharma (vc), Ravi Bishnoi, Blessing Muzarabani, Avesh Khan, Wellington Masakadza