Skipper Williamson back in the squad, Taylor missing out the third ODI
By Sandy - Mar 2, 2018 8:58 am
Views 61

New Zealand skipper Kane Williamson is returning in the third ODI of the ongoing home ODI series against England, while Ross Taylor is ruled out from the third ODI due to a thigh injury. The five-match ODI series is currently level by the 1-1 margin after the second game. The third ODI will be played on Saturday at Westpac Stadium (Wellington).

Ross Taylor will miss the third ODI due to a thigh injury

Due to a hamstring injury, New Zealand captain Kane Williamson missed the second ODI. But now Williamson seems to be fit for the third ODI.

Kane Williamson is fit for the third ODI
Also read: Ravichandran Ashwin ruled out from the Deodhar Trophy

While New Zealand is getting back their skipper, another important and experienced member Ross Taylor ruled out from the third ODI. Taylor received a quad injury during the second ODI which forced him to miss the third ODI.

New Zealand opened their account in this series by winning the first ODI by 3 wickets, which was a thrilling encounter. England levelled the series with a convincing 6-wicket victory in the second ODI.

Both teams are looking forward to the third ODI that will be played on Saturday at Wellington. Recently, New Zealand had lost a T20I match against England at the Westpac Stadium during the T20I tri-series.

Also read: Cricket Ireland decided to build a new cricket stadium

However, New Zealand has never lost an ODI match against England at the Westpac Stadium. Till the date, they have met thrice at this venue where New Zealand ended up as a winning team in every time.

New Zealand cricketer Mitchell Santner is looking in a great form in this series as an all-rounder. Talking about their planning for the third ODI, Santner said, “We’ve had some success against them there in the past. It’s a good surface. You need to bowl well because it’s short (boundaries) square of the wicket. We’ve been playing good cricket for a while but last match we were outplayed – the way England bowled, they didn’t give us much.”


New Zealand: Kane Williamson (capt), Todd Astle, Trent Boult, Mark Chapman, Lockie Ferguson, Colin de Grandhomme, Martin Guptill, Matt Henry, Tom Latham (wk), Colin Munro, Henry Nicholls, Mitchell Santner, Ish Sodhi, Tim Southee.

England: Eoin Morgan (capt), Moeen Ali, Jonny Bairstow, Sam Billings, Jos Buttler (wk), Tom Curran, Alex Hales, Craig Overton, Adil Rashid, Joe Root, Jason Roy, Ben Stokes, David Willey, Chris Woakes, Mark Wood.